We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home in Ludlow”
Review of Whitfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whitfield House
Ranked #4 of 47 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level Contributor
190 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A home away from home in Ludlow”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Four of us took two rooms for 5 nights here, as a base for walking in the area. From the start we were made to feel welcome in the house. We had to swap rooms for one night due to another reservation (but we knew of this in advance so were expecting it) but Andrew helped us move. One night we ate in with food from the excellent Ludlow Food Centre (up the A49 towards Shrewsbury) and enjoyed the ability to do this is a B&B. The other nights it was a short and welcome walk into town to use one of the excellent choice of restaurants there. Sleep quality and bed comfort were exemplary in 'Crickets' and 'Mortimer' (the rooms where we stayed). And you have a great view of the castle from the back rooms in the house. Breakfasts were excellent too. If you like a cooked version, the chickens lay daily! We couldn't have had more friendly hosts, both of whom share the task with other jobs including raising a family. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size so talk with Sarah and/or Andrew about your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accidentaltourist_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
105
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble. Tea on arrival, 'extras' in the room (biscuits, chocolate, fresh milk, boot drainer, shared frig space). Breakfast was beautifully cooked. Really comfortable - thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed overnight on our way home from a 10 day holiday in the south of Wales. Andrew came out to greet us as we pulled onto the circular drive. We were shown to our room-The Mortimer which was beautiful, with a spacious en-suite & both with all mod cons. The bay window looked out over the garden, fields & the castle!!! The beautiful house has been sympathetically restored & it was a treat to stay there.

Breakfast was the best we had ever tasted (& we have sampled many). The local ingredients & fresh eggs were excellent all served in the oak panelled dining room. Nothing was too much trouble for Sarah & both the hosts made us feel more than welcome.

The location was quiet, relaxing but only a 15 minute stroll to the castle (in the centre of Ludlow).We would recommend staying here-it was outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ravensthorpe
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Booked a few days away for some relaxation and decided on the old market town of Ludlow. The location of the above was spot on. 5 to 10 mins stroll to the town. The accommodation was excellent, clean, tidy and had fantastic views of the castle. The hosts were fantastic and I would recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickipike10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed with my husband for our wedding anniversary. Staff went out of their way to make our stay special. Very good value. Outstanding breakfast.pleasant stroll into town. Looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squirgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is the best bed & breakfast we ever have stayed in. Sarah gave us such a fabulous welcome, making us a pot of Earl Grey tea immediately on our arrival. We were impressed by her genuine warmth & concern for us. Nothing seemed too much trouble. The quality of the breakfast was truly exceptional, my wife particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit on offer, while I tucked into the deliciously cooked breakfast with its fresh ingredients. Not to mention the prize-winning marmalade on our toast at the end. Our only regret was that we could only stay one night as we were on our way to a wedding in Chester. We would heartily recommend Whitfield House & look forward to returning for a longer break.

Room Tip: all rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juddldsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I can only mirror the good comments on here, We stayed at Whitfield House, Ludlow for 1 night, at the start of the "Food Festival" in September. "The Mortimer" room exceeded our expectations & Sarah and Andrew are delightful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Room, breakfast and location are superb. If you are planning to visit Ludlow this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.8 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#8 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitfield House

Property: Whitfield House
Address: Whitfield House Burway Lane, Ludlow SY8 1DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlimited Free Parking. Recently renovated 1920s house in the heart of historic Ludlow set amidst two acres of garden with stunning views of the castle and surrounding countryside. Easy access to town, pubs and station. Grade **** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Whitfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing