We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth climbing the 200 steps in the tower?”

Parish Church of St Laurence
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: 'The Cathedral of the Marches' 'Very fayre and large and richly adorned and taken for the fairest in all these quarters.' John Leyland One of only 18 churches given a FIVE STAR rating by Simon Jenkins in England's Thousand Best Churches.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Cambridge
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth climbing the 200 steps in the tower?”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were recommended to visit St Laurence by a local taxi driver and I am glad we took up his suggestion.
Beautiful and impressive church with very welcoming and helpful staff. Lots of interesting features and the climb to the top of the tower was well worth it for the amazing view of the town and surrounding countryside (even though it was windy and pouring with sleet!). No fee for visiting the church but a £3 per person charge for climbing the tower.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Penelope50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    138
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I heard that this was one of the largest churches in Shropshire, and entered it on a very rainy day. Amazingly it was totally free ( but donations are welcome ) We were given a guide and enjoyed exploring this very large church, with all its different chapels, effigies and tombs. There was even a little shop which sold lots of hand made items and general gifts, and we bought some Christmas colouring books for our Grand daughter.If you like churches, then you will enjoy this one.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank stormcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Hidden away beauty”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were on a day trip to Ludlow and saw the spire of the church and thought nothing of it
It was not until my wife was looking in a shop window that she noticed at the end of the alley way was the entrance to this beautiful church.
We love to visit historical buildings and this was a real find.
The only way I could describe it is like a mini cathedral , the stained glass windows are lovely and the wood carvings so ornate you would not think they were carved by man.
There are several places to light candles for your fallen which we did while standing in ore at the height of the spire from inside.
Ludlow has a lot to offer but this little gem is worth making the time to visit if you can find the entrance .

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank oakley 56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
199 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 829 helpful votes
“A 'blessing' for 'bookworms' !”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A magnificent 'little' church with a comparatively huge tower - this offers excellent views over the town and surrounding countryside - on a good day mind !
A good team of volunteers / wardens may greet you.
The 'Cathedral of the Marches' indeed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank RobertTaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I liked the beautiful windows. The church folk were dressing the church ready for the medieval fair that weekend . Lots of interesting carvings on the seats , well worth a visit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nunuLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parish Church of St Laurence also viewed

Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 
 

Been to Parish Church of St Laurence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing