We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden away beauty”

Parish Church of St Laurence
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: 'The Cathedral of the Marches' 'Very fayre and large and richly adorned and taken for the fairest in all these quarters.' John Leyland One of only 18 churches given a FIVE STAR rating by Simon Jenkins in England's Thousand Best Churches.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Hidden away beauty”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were on a day trip to Ludlow and saw the spire of the church and thought nothing of it
It was not until my wife was looking in a shop window that she noticed at the end of the alley way was the entrance to this beautiful church.
We love to visit historical buildings and this was a real find.
The only way I could describe it is like a mini cathedral , the stained glass windows are lovely and the wood carvings so ornate you would not think they were carved by man.
There are several places to light candles for your fallen which we did while standing in ore at the height of the spire from inside.
Ludlow has a lot to offer but this little gem is worth making the time to visit if you can find the entrance .

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank oakley 56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    135
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
199 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 828 helpful votes
“A 'blessing' for 'bookworms' !”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A magnificent 'little' church with a comparatively huge tower - this offers excellent views over the town and surrounding countryside - on a good day mind !
A good team of volunteers / wardens may greet you.
The 'Cathedral of the Marches' indeed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank RobertTaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I liked the beautiful windows. The church folk were dressing the church ready for the medieval fair that weekend . Lots of interesting carvings on the seats , well worth a visit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nunuLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“As close to a Cathedral as you'll get”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Warm welcome on arrival at this impressive parish church which is almost like a cathedral in proportions with so much local history on view - and an impressive gift shop for some individual souvenirs. Well worth a visit whether you are a believer or not.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank woodm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Uplifting”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

It's 40 years since I last visited this church - I had a sense of space that hadn't left over all those years. I wasn't disappointed. This is an impressive structure. The arches around the tower seem to soar into the sky in an elegant and moving way. Then there are the justly famous misericords. The volunteers in the church couldn't be more helpful, making a visit to this clearly much loved church a real pleasure.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parish Church of St Laurence also viewed

Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 
 

Been to Parish Church of St Laurence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing