We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood”

The Fish House Shop
Ranked #5 of 89 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $82
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Fish House is not a restaurant but a high quality fishmongers with a small seating area within the shop (summertime seating outside) where fresh shellfish can be selected from the counter. We are fully licensed with a small selection of excellent wines. Lunch is served between 12 noon and 3pm. Open Wednesday through to Saturday.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Fish House is not a restaurant and does not pretend to be one. Fitting in to one of the four tables can be a squeeze which is part of the charm and makes this a great place for an informal lunch, provided you can get a table. There is always a warm welcome and cheerful service.

We eat here at least once month and it is great. Usually prawns followed by either crab or hot smoked salmon, all accompanied by good local bread and a bottle of very reasonably priced wine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bastapasta24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    28
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby
Level Contributor
207 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic food but uncomfortable barrel seats”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very important to get a table here as it is not your normal restaurant but a very good seafood shop with a few seats where you eat from the displayed food and there are not many tables or barrels available. Excellent 'taste of the sea' food including some of the best oysters I have tasted for a long time. This is a brilliant idea which works very well indeed and beats most of the great formal restaurants in Ludlow for a light lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JLWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

After my previous comment,I have to say Im apologise for the bad review...were alredy eat there,and was everything was fresh &ok. BUT its still not a restaurante...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charliefil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food but not really a restaurant”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good Food but not really a restaurant: I don't want to put this place down because it is a really good idea and a really good experience but its fresh fish at lunch time with not a lot else. It was all perfect, hence the 3 stars but its not a restaurant and that's what I'm meant to be reviewing, however, I do recommend a visit if you want to try something different while your visiting Ludlow or of a weekend. I will be going in again

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Stunning seafood.”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I hope the owners ask tripadvisor to remove the 'review' by charliefil, as they haven't eaten here. How idiotic and SPITEFUL to put a bad review on a site because you can't get in????
We DID manage to get in as we went at a sensible time, you may struggle for a seat as it's popular because it's FANTASTIC!!! The food is heavenly. We had a platter for £10, which is listed as for one person, and added some smaller dishes which made a really nice selection of gorgeous seafood. it was served with lovely chunks of fresh bread. If you enjoy seafood you'll be in heaven here-we were. Can't wait to go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallyGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish House Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Fish House Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing