We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ludlow

“First time with da vinci”

Da Vinci at Ludlow Castle
Ranked #41 of 91 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Description: Elegant English Castle Tea Rooms serving traditional English Fayre with a twist of Italian from the Chef/Proprietor Nadia. In temporary residence until 31 March 2020 we will be offering Breakfast, Lunch, Sunday Brunches and Afternoon Teas. A large selection of cakes, pastries, tarts and scones - all homemade - will be on offer every day. On a regular basis we shall also be offering traditional and modern authentic Regional Italian Dining Events.
Restaurant details
Description: Elegant English Castle Tea Rooms serving traditional English Fayre with a twist of Italian from the Chef/Proprietor Nadia. In temporary residence until 31 March 2020 we will be offering Breakfast, Lunch, Sunday Brunches and Afternoon Teas. A large selection of cakes, pastries, tarts and scones - all homemade - will be on offer every day. On a regular basis we shall also be offering traditional and modern authentic Regional Italian Dining Events.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Liked the new lay out, liked being shown to table lovely menu atmosphere and staff, lemon ricotta cheese cake mmmm. Booked for the evening Italian following week.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Ludsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davinci1996, Owner at Da Vinci at Ludlow Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there...thank you for your lovely comments - Menu en route for Saturday and we look forward to seeing you again. Nadia, Jess and Dave x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 292 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2020

Nadia's temporary residence at the Castle tea room is great news for Ludlow - she is a real all-rounder, with a distinct Italian twist. In the last few weeks we've enjoyed one lunch, one tea, one pop-up Italian dinner, and two Sunday brunches, all delicious and served with a smile. It's especially good to have the brunch option on Sunday - and they serve Staffordshire oat cakes!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank crimewriterkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davinci1996, Owner at Da Vinci at Ludlow Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

What a lovely review! Thank you...hope to see you again soon. Nadia x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

Under new ownership. This used to be a regular welcoming venue for us but we were directed to leave by a woman claiming to be the new owner who stated "I have to think of my other customers".
We had visited twice in the last week, the first time being boxing day, we put the unfriendliness shown towards us down to being the new management being under stress on a very busy day, so, we went again on saturday when it was very quiet.
We had waited for about 5 minutes by the sign asking you to wait to be seated, when a customer sitting nearby suggested we wander through as service was very slow. I jokingly said to her that she would see us route-marched out if this was wrong, I was joking but that is exactly what did happen!
When we wandered through to where a male member of staff had his back to us as he was working the till, when he turned round I asked if it was ok that we had just wandered through, he apologised that we had been waiting and invited us to sit down, he was very polite.
A moment later the owner marched in demanding that we leave. This woman's behaviour and attitude was horrendous and unacceptable. We did not query or argue but silently and embarrassed we surrendered ourselves to be escorted out. What was our crime - we were just 4 people looking for lunch but 2 of our party are disabled.
There are many kinds of disability, mental health being just one of them!
This type of discrimination needs to end, so, TripAdvisor I am using your media to spread the word and name and shame this inequality and discrimination.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Meg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davinci1996, Owner at Da Vinci at Ludlow Castle, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Shocking mistruths about the incident and shocking exploitation of the Mental Health and Disability card. If you had been present at the time of the incident with the gentleman's absurd, confrontational and frankly disturbing references to my Mental Health, then you would understand my reaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2019 via mobile

Cosy, warm, inviting, exceptionally clean and the most lovely wholesome owner ever. We felt welcome and valued by herself and her lovely staff. The food looked great though we didn't eat there. The hot chocolate was amazing but the coffee could have been stronger. We will definitely go back when we visit again..

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davinci1996, Owner at Da Vinci at Ludlow Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Haha... It Is delicious isn't it and responsible for my increasing waistline! It is supplied by Iron & Fire Coffee Roasters based in Shrewsbury who produce our coffee. They make sure that any products they source to compliment their amazing Coffee is of the same high standard. I'll pass on your compliments, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2019 via mobile

Nice little place called in for coffee and cake before castle visit, clean and staff were very helpful

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank marting827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davinci1996, Owner at Da Vinci at Ludlow Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

This is a review for the previous owner as we took on the Tea Rooms in mid November but thank you anyway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Vinci at Ludlow Castle also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Da Vinci at Ludlow Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing