We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Squirrel ludlow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Squirrel

The Squirrel
Ranked #44 of 87 Restaurants in Ludlow
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Squirrel ludlow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A friend and myself called at the Squirrel for lunch on Saturday afternoon the resturant was very clean and tidy. the manager and staff were very helpfull and friendly. we choose fish & chips from the menu as it was not far of evening meal time we choose a small one as there was a choice. The meal arrived quickly and was very excellent we had half a pint of Hobsons ale which was really good. We had being trying to get a meal on our way from Ledbury as we had been to a auction. Unfortunatley every were we had called before had shut at 2 or before well done Marstons open all day for meals

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    140
    101
    73
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
175 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Food and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Located next to the Travelodge about 1 mile from the centre of Ludlow. This Marstons pub and restaurant is very welcoming and offers excellent food and wine at reasonable prices. We were given complimentary nachos and dip before we ordered our main meal which was very substantial so we were pleased we didn't order a starter! The service was excellent and the staff very cheerful and the atmosphere in general was very relaxed. Unlike earlier reviews we had no problem getting a table or having to wait to be served but on weekends it might be advisable to book in advance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnEandCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great food. excellent price always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Have been for a meal here on lots of occasions and everytime the food has been excellent. The menu is varied with lots of choice for everyone. It is also superb value & they do a 2 for £10 menu in the week with plenty of options on there. The staff are always helpful and good

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nuge11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great, as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Come here every few months when I'm up visiting my parents. Always have good food, good friendly service, and decent well-kept beer.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GreyWelshWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice service, reasonable food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The food was ok and very good lunchtime value. Bonnie, the waitress deserves commendation for her friendly and helpful service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gobunti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Squirrel also viewed

Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to The Squirrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing