We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to take the kids”

Acton Scott Historic Working Farm
Ranked #6 of 27 things to do in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular working farm and museum that features practical demonstrations of historic farming methods using traditional skills and period horse-drawn machines.
Irish Sea
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely place to take the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent the good part of a day here. It's a lovely place to take young kids and there are lots of interesting things for them to look at. There's also plenty of space to run around safely. We particularly enjoyed looking in on the pigs and the little ones enjoyed riding in a cart on the back of a pony. There are lots of suitable places if you're planning a picnic - as we did. Well worth the money. A good old fashioned day out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lostintheirishsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    49
    25
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nostalgic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Acton Scott is always a pleasure to visit - I've been a few times. Lots of interesting things to see and everyone is very helpful and pleasant. It is also good value for money - the entrance fee is very reasonable and the items in the cafeteria are also modestly priced. I'd recommend a visit to Acton Scott for everyone.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
187 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“a return to Victorian values for the better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I visited here on a hot Saturday. What a treat. We wandered round the various exhibits and buildings and chatted to the guides and people working there who were uniformly willing and informative. The range of farm animals is good though at this time of year many were grazing the fields and so they should. The site cafe has by far the best pork pie I have tasted and should be sampled by one and all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

What lucky people to own and live in such a place!the grounds are beautiful, lots of things to see and watch.Baby pigs,chickens and ducks,bought some butter which was yummy!One of the shires was turning a small hay field which was good to see,well worth a visit.The staff were lovely too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The school house has been kept in a fantastic condition the stadards all round the farm were great and all the staff were knowledgable about the farm history......The snacks in the cafe are great

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acton Scott Historic Working Farm also viewed

 

Been to Acton Scott Historic Working Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing