We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Feathers at Ludlow
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing Value”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We also booked this hotel using an online deal and, to be honest, were half expecting an inferior room and table d'hôte meal. However, the absolute opposite was true. We stayed with friends to celebrate a significant birthday, and we both had fabulous rooms. Theirs, I assume, was a suite!! Really comfortable and warm and with everything you would expect.
The evening meal was first class. Impeccable food and service from very friendly staff. The same was true of breakfast and for the reception staff.
In summary, couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bramb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    337
    155
    75
    39
See reviews for
94
653
25
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Raposo, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We booked this through an on line deal. We arrived a little early, however were able to check in immediately. Our room was, as we had hoped, quirky, cosy, and very comfortable. The staff were incredibly helpful and courteous.We ate in the restaurant. The food was very good, the service impeccable. A slight problem with one of my dishes was rectified immediately, with no fuss whatsoever. This was our first time visiting Ludlow, and were not disappointed either by the Town or the Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElRaposodiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was booked as a birthday treat for my fiancee. We love Ludlow and had had coffee in the Feathers before so knew what to expect regarding the old building. However the whole experience was flawless from start to finish. The reception staff were informative, friendly and welcoming. The food was exquisite, in this foodie town. The room was number 144, a superior double, not a four poster but beautifully appointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsdenique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband booked an overnight stay at this lovely hotel through a online deal site. We had a second floor room at the front which had a four poster bed. The room was spotless with a very spacious and well equipped bathroom. My only criticism would be the choice of wallpaper (woodchip of all things) and the fact that the bedroom furniture apart from the bed was cheap looking and did not match anything else in the room. We ate in the restaurant which was marvellous. All the staff we encountered were helpful, pleasant and very efficient. Although our room was at the front it was quiet. The location is excellent and Ludlow is a wonderful place to visit - speciality shops, market, castle, atmospheric pubs. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Not the luxury stay I had expected. The facade is impressive and there are some quirky and interesting rooms in the main building.
We did not manage to park in the hotel car park, but road parking was free between 6pm and 8am so that was OK.
We were disappointed with the room, especially as it must be one of the few hotels still using sheet and blanket on the bed. However, the manager made us a goodwill gesture which we accepted with thanks.
We booked a meal in the restaurant, which promised excellent food, which was correct - just not enough of it! Despite being fully booked, the restaurant was not full and lacking in ambience. Very efficient service

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Elis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Staff are good. Parking is free but sometimes gets busy/full. Food is nice. The old part is old so rooms not quite as spic and span. Hot water sometimes slow but let it run. Great location in the centre of Ludlow. Nice rooms upstairs to sit in after dinner. Would return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWilbury101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is a lovely charming Hotel, well located in the centre of Ludlow. Our room was amazing, large, well appointed with whirl pool bath and walk in shower. We dined in the restaurant in the evening and breakfast. On both occasions the food was amazing and the staff in the restaurant and reception were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julespmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
1.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
867 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
1.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers at Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers at Ludlow

Property: The Feathers at Ludlow
Address: Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers at Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Feathers at Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers At Ludlow Hotel Ludlow
Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing