We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd night of a haunted weekend road trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Feathers at Ludlow
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“2nd night of a haunted weekend road trip.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here on the second night of a haunted hotels road trip (see our other review). Saw the hotel on a haunted hotels website but found the best deal was by booking through the hotel direct. This is a fantastic hotel in a very pretty town. The hotel is full of character and makes a great change from the modern hotel chain. We had a family room which was all that was left when we booked, and was a large room with bath robes and slippers provided. My wife does like this. Reception staff very friendly and helpful, as was bar man who appeared to double as waiter and tourist information. We had a meal in the bar which was excellent but please note the bar menu doesn’t start until 6pm for the true Englishman who likes his tea at 5. The hotel is beautifully decorated and staff do not appear to mind you looking around the various seating and dining rooms. Several rooms looked as if they haven’t changed in the last 200 years. The only fault with this hotel is the car parking which is very limited. We did get a place much to the annoyance of another guest who couldn’t manoeuvre there 4 x 4 quick enough. Nearly forgot to mention not a ghost in sight.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade-Corrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    330
    146
    66
    38
See reviews for
92
626
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed at this lovely hotel for one night, on my birthday. Could not be faulted. The hotel is beautiful on the inside and outside and has a wonderful ambiance, with interesting history and decor - it certainly beats any sterile modern hotel chain. The staff were very warm, attentive and friendly towards us and our dog. Our room was lovely - clean and spacious - with all the amenities needed for our stay. Bar meal and breakfast were delicious and they had a great selection of real local ales.. The hotel's location in the centre of Ludlow is ideal and near all places of interest. Good value for money and we would recommend to others. We'd like to thank all the staff for giving us a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elerinant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We got a great price on staying here and booked in for a couple of nights whilst visiting family in the area and it’s worth saying -what a superb historic and truly charming hotel. The room we stayed in was huge and the hotel had been kind enough to securely store bikes for us whilst we stayed. The staff were courteous, the breakfasts were very good, the seating/bar area with an open fire was great and it was an all-round good stay. If I’ve any words of criticism, the hotel is tired and it’s sad to see such a historic and famous hotel looking a bit shabby. It’s not bad but it’s best not to look too close, but I appreciate hotels of this age will not be cheap to keep on top of. However, as long as you can get a good deal on price, you should go!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HD8Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful hotel inside and out! The staff were exceptional, so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble.
We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night and had one of the best meals ever, the venison was too die for and just the right portion size. Recommend the creme brûlée as well, it was fab!
Again the staff were exceptional, extremely attentive and friendly. We went for my birthday and I can honestly say it was a fantastic nights stay, we had a couple of issues with the room, but the staff reacted to this immediately and did all that they could to rectify the problems.
If you are visiting Ludlow it's a must to stay at The Feathers, the staff, food, ambience, the building itself is second to none!!!!!!! Well worth a visit such a relaxing stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sharron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

my partner and I stayed here for one night on a local coach trip to the area, we found the hotel to be full of charm and character and our room was very large with a double bed and a single bed around a partitioned corner of the room.
the food was lovely but we found for us the portions were on the small side.
Ludlow is a wonderful and beautiful place to visit with loads of history and to stay in the oldest hotel in Ludlow just added to the ambience and we are hoping to visit the place again soon.

Room Tip: ground floor if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank rox e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent one night (through Amazon local) at the Feathers in Ludlow - what a lovely welcoming hotel with real fires, tons of historic features including beams and panelled walls and great food in the restaurant. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the bridal suite no less with a massive double jacuzzi bath, a real fireplace and enormous comfortable bed and room.The staff couldn't do enough to make us feel welcomed - we would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a bath and you may be upgraded to the bridal suite like we were!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanatBurtononTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great Fun. New Years Eve party booking. The food was excellent. The staff though stole the show. This morning someone dropped some plates. No fuss, no drama and team joined in to sort quickly and then the excellent service continued. Will go again.

Room Tip: Don't forget this is a fabulous Jacobean hotel. It has sloping floors, creaky passages the works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#7 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers at Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers at Ludlow

Property: The Feathers at Ludlow
Address: Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers at Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Feathers at Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers At Ludlow Hotel Ludlow
Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing