We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for family in Ludlow”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludlow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Merchant House B & B
Ranked #24 of 48 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with husband and 11 year old daughter. Daughter got her own room and bathroom, we had bedroom and shower room with attached sitting room (which also contains a single bed). All very clean and comfortable. This is a beautiful mediaeval house, about a 10 minute walk from the centre of town (and a handy 5 minutes from La Becasse). Breakfasts were delicious and Rosemary takes a lot of trouble over them. She will do anything from yogurt, fruit and toast to a full English. Couldn't have been better as a base for us in this beautiful town.

Room Tip: There is no choice of rooms - you can only book the second smaller room if you are booking the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 82 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Rosemary and Jonathan have a beautiful and interesting house and we were made to feel at home the moment we arrived. Lovely room, which was spotlessly clean with comfy bedding.
Breakfast was delicious and no need to eat again until the evening!
Great location, nice and quiet, with a short stroll up into the town centre passing lovely buildings and quirky shops.
We had a fascinating chat with our hosts about Ludlow and it's mediaeval history. It was one of the nicest places we've stayed and definately recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A lovely, comfortable stay, with everything you could need and any extras requested supplied very quickly! Charming hosts, good breakfast and clean, well appointed accommodation. Very private with just two bedrooms and a small sitting room in between. Cars can be parked outside with a permit but the Merchant's House is within easy walking distance of the towm centre. We were even invited into the beautiful garden. Extremely good vallue for money and I have re-booked.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have just returned from Ludlow staying at the Merchant House B & B. Mr & Mrs Wood are charming and friendly. The mediaeval property is beautiful, very comfortable (large white fluffy duvets and pillows in the double bedrooms. En suite. All amenities. The breakfast is very varied from simple Continental up to full English breakfast.

I would totall recommend this and will definitely go again.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudiRWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for a weekend in June and it was the perfect place for a short stay in Ludlow. Located in a quiet road, a 5 minute down the hill from the town centre, this medieval house is full of character. We had a warm welcome from Rosemary and Jonathan, and the room was actually a suite of 2 rooms on the 1st floor. The main bedroom had a double bed with adjoining, very modern, en-suite, and the 2nd room also had a single bed and plenty of wardrobe space. Parking outside in the streeet is effectively free overnight between 4pm and 10am [2 hour free stay limit between the hours of 8am-6pm] and at other times we parked just round the corner at a cost of just £1.10 per day. The building is very old with plenty of charm and character. The breakfast was magnificent, cooked by Rosemary at the time of our choosing. We also ate on the 1st night at the Unicon Inn, just 3 doors down the road. This was a lovely pub with super food. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Merchant House to anybody staying for a short break in Ludlow.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamworthtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of January for my husbands birthday. I had never visited Ludlow before now even though we live not too many miles away, i must say that we were not in anyway disappointed. Ludlow is absolutely beautiful and i believe we probably picked one of the best accomodations available. Rosemary and Jonathan are lovely people and perfect hosts. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day of more sight seeing.The house has losts of charm and character with all the period features. There is a pub just a couple of doors down that serves exceptional food with great service and atmosphere. The whole weekend experience although short was perfect, so perfect we shall return for a couple of the calender events happening later in the year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JACK161191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed one cold January night. It has a convenient and very quiet riverside location at the bottom of town. During the week one would have to pay for street parking or walk to a long-stay car park. From the welcoming tea in the cosy lounge to the generous breakfast spread, we enjoyed a memorable and luxurious experience in a spacious room. The historic building with ancient timbers and period features is delightful but also lacks nothing in modern comfort. Rosemary is a good hostess. I would thoroughly recommend it.
C&J

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.5 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
0.7 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
912 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queens
The Queens
#17 of 48 in Ludlow
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merchant House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merchant House B & B

Address: Merchant House 62 Corve Street, Ludlow SY8 1DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star bed and breakfast accommodation at The Merchant House, one of Ludlow’s finest medieval houses, situated a short walk from the town centre, railway station, traditional pubs and Michelin-starred restaurants. An ideal base from which to explore the glorious countryside of the Welsh Marches by car, train or bicycle. Our breakfasts are sourced whenever possible from local produce, and served in the erstwhile buttery and pantry of this timber-framed hall house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing