We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hens & Chickens Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$36
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Talbot Hotel(Leominster)
$93
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Oak(Leominster)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
55
16
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
16
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centrecar parkoff road parkinghuge comfortable bednice roomreasonable sizelovely hostsvery comfortable staylovely breakfastlovely townbreakfast menuplace to staymain buildingwithin walking distanceminute walknext morningtwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 77 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I first stayed here about a month ago, booking at the last minute for a walking weekend with a friend. We stayed in the twin room at the top of the house and it was perfect for our needs. A pleasant surprise considering we booked at the last minute. I had an eventful journey as the road into Ludlow was flooded and Jimmy had to guide me in on the phone by an alternative route.

The room was comfortable, clean and had enough room for 2 "big lads". The bathroom and shower was large. The breakfasts were first class and Jimmy was helpful offering advice on where to go etc.

I enjoyed my stay so much I have just returned from a 3 day visit this time with my wife. We stayed in the bigger double room in the cottage. The bed in here is huge and very comfortable. There is plenty of space and the room has a large TV, Tea and Coffee etc. Again the breakfasts were very good, excellent sausage and bacon (from the local butcher) and choice for those not wanting a full English. Home made preserves and attentive service make it a good start to the day.

Ludlow itself and the surrounds are fabulous and I'm a convert to this area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I chose this B and B for a family weekend to celebrate my mum's 89th birthday. As there was 8 of us we hired all the rooms. Charlotte and Jimmy the proprietors were very helpful before and during our stay as I wanted to ensure the room for mum was suitable as she has limited mobility. They also gave us plates, glasses and napkins on arrival to use for cake and wine we'd brought with us to celebrate. The breakfasts were superb with a varied choice and homemade jams. The rooms is Vine Cottage are fantastic as they have been modernised but the rooms in the house have splendid bathrooms and are clean, tidy, pleasant and restful. The B and B is also handily placed for the town and sites. I would stay there again with pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Well situated B&B, excellent breakfast, very welcoming exceptionally clean, what more could you ask for.

Room Tip: Not the top room if your not too fit.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pen-men-wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We wanted a quiet break for a few days to re-charge our batteries and came across the Hen and Chicken Guest House when looking for accommodation around the Ludlow area. We chose to stay in Vine Cottage at the rear of the Hens and Chickens guest house, rather than the main building, because the phographs showed a modern bedroom with a large bed and huge shower cubicle. The bed was very comfortable with lovely soft bedding. The room was bigger than we expected and had everything in the right place ie mirrors near plugs for drying hair, shelves for toiletries, hooks for coats etc, home from home really. There was good information about local restaurants and a map in the bedroom. There was a good choice of food for breakfast which was exceptionally tasty and so much better than products bought at home! The car was off the road in a gated car park next to the cottage. The cottage entrance was idyllic, it was so peaceful, the birds were twittering, the gravel crunching, we felt miles away from everything, yet the town is only a five min walk away (up hill). Charlotte and Jimmy were attentive and helpful at every opportunity. It was a lovely few days, despite the weather, and we would certainly recommend Vine Cottage to anyone. Alan A, Oldham

Room Tip: Vine cottage was off the road at the back of the guest house and was very very peaceful.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanA19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is a clean but very plainly decorated property which could do with modernising. A totally average offering with little to enthuse a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iamatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews