We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“idyllic vine cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hens & Chickens Guest House

Hens & Chickens Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludlow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hens & Chickens Guest House
Ranked #26 of 48 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“idyllic vine cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We wanted a quiet break for a few days to re-charge our batteries and came across the Hen and Chicken Guest House when looking for accommodation around the Ludlow area. We chose to stay in Vine Cottage at the rear of the Hens and Chickens guest house, rather than the main building, because the phographs showed a modern bedroom with a large bed and huge shower cubicle. The bed was very comfortable with lovely soft bedding. The room was bigger than we expected and had everything in the right place ie mirrors near plugs for drying hair, shelves for toiletries, hooks for coats etc, home from home really. There was good information about local restaurants and a map in the bedroom. There was a good choice of food for breakfast which was exceptionally tasty and so much better than products bought at home! The car was off the road in a gated car park next to the cottage. The cottage entrance was idyllic, it was so peaceful, the birds were twittering, the gravel crunching, we felt miles away from everything, yet the town is only a five min walk away (up hill). Charlotte and Jimmy were attentive and helpful at every opportunity. It was a lovely few days, despite the weather, and we would certainly recommend Vine Cottage to anyone. Alan A, Oldham

Room Tip: Vine cottage was off the road at the back of the guest house and was very very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanA19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    15
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is a clean but very plainly decorated property which could do with modernising. A totally average offering with little to enthuse a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iamatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed two nights at this lovely B & B only minutes from the town centre. We stayed in the Bullfinch room which was well equipped and modern. It had a modern TV, two chairs and comfy beds. There was also a large shower room.The room is upstairs and although there was nobody below us for the first night we were aware of the occupants on the second night. The breakfasts were good and set you up for the day. Charlotte and Jimmy are very welcoming hosts and although you can't book in before 4pm (except by prior arrangement) they will allow you to park on their car park so you can have the time free to go into town.
It is a lovely and very convenient B & B and we will hopefully return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandRuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at The Hen & Chickens this week for 2 nights and found Charlotte and Jimmy welcoming and friendly. The room was of a very high standard and was nice, warm and large with a good modern tv and tea and coffee making facilities as you would expect. The En-suite bathroom was large and the shower was very good. We had 2 good nights sleep as the bed was very comfortable. Despite the fact that our room was at the front and very close to the road the window was secondary double glazed and the sound from the traffic was minimal. Certainly not enough to disturb a good nights sleep. The breakfast facilities were very good again with a large choice and the cooked breakfast was excellent. Overall a very nice Guest House which is highly recommended.
For eating out go to The Queens in Ludlow.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed for three nights towards the end of December 2011, looking for a quiet few nights away.

The Guest House (with Breakfast included) is situated on a busy-ish road, however the care that the owners have taken to install secondary glazing reduces the noise to a perfectly acceptable minimum.

We got the feeling that the current proprietors acquired the business in the last few years and have dealt with all the main problems that the property may have had upon their purchase - secondary glazing, new televisions, re-furbished bathrooms. The overall décor of the property remains relatively tired, however, and some previous owner appears to have shown great aptitude in removing any sense of character he/she could find.

BUT... The current owners clearly have their hearts in the right place and, with further support from customers, I do hope they will get the opportunity to continue their efforts to bring the rooms fully into the 21st century. There is also an amount of 'you get what you pay for', in our case £75 per night.

Breakfasts are very good with every effort made to accommodate complicated requests. We also noticed unspoken gestures where the owners tried to make our stay more comfortable - oiling the squeaky sign outside, for example.

Overall, very good Guest House with great potential for the future.

I know that the owners read their Trip Advisor reviews, so I do hope you find this review fair, Jimmy and Charlotte. Many thanks for your warm hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim1983_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWTOWNARDS
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed in this lovely b&b for 2 nights, food was lovely good selection for breakfast .
The room was very warm in fact had to turn the heat down . bed was very comfortable a real home from home the en suite was of a very high standard.
Charlotte and Jimmy the owners are very friendly would recommend this B&B ,,
We came by train and it was around a ten minute walk although a taxi would be better if hills are a problem .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LORRIE31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Charlotte and Jimmy, the woners of the Hen and Chikcens made us very welcome. The room was immaculate, clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were great. The room was in the annexe and had an en suite shower room. The B & B is within walking distance of all points of interest in the town so very convenient and has a reasonable size car park as parking is not easy in the town at some other guest houses. I recommend this B & B highly as it has a peaceful feel as did Ludlow which is a very attractive, friendly, safe town, full of history and well worth a visit..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.2 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.4 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Queens
The Queens
#13 of 48 in Ludlow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#8 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Charlton Arms
The Charlton Arms
#6 of 48 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hens & Chickens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hens & Chickens Guest House

Property: Hens & Chickens Guest House
Address: 103 Old Street, Ludlow SY8 1NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing