We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Sunday Carvery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant

The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 87 Restaurants in Ludlow
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Carvery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had previously tried to have Sunday lunch at the Wheatsheaf but they were fully booked so we thought that must be a good sign. We booked for a meal yesterday and weren't disappointed!
The welcome was friendly and the ambience good. The lady carving the meat did seem a bit stressed but friendly enough. I enjoyed the beef and my husband the pork. Both were tender and tasty and the portions generous. The vegetables were fresh and tasty. Desserts were slightly overpriced for the portion sizes but very moreish! I just wish some fellow customers didn't treat a carvery line like an Olympic sprint!
Would we return? Yes, certainly!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nessief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    70
    14
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“What a location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Popped in to The Wheatsheaf Inn on consecutive evenings during a two-night stopover in Ludlow.
The Bar on both occasions was quiet. The service was fine and the atmosphere pleasant. The location of The Wheatsheaf is the Inn's unique selling point. If it was located anywhere else, it would be rather ordinary. Sit outside if the weather allows it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimBlandings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A meal for 20 adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We pre-ordered the meal because of the large number of diners. We were given a special room away from the bar with the tables joined together to suit our group.

Three courses of nicely cooked food was served by friendly staff with no long waits between courses. The food was tasty and reasonably priced (mostly under £10 for main course). The atmosphere was great and rounded off our group cycling holiday with everyone lloking forward to the next one!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2077richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Pleasant midweek meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is only a small pub but it has a nice atmosphere. We ate in the bar and we all enjoyed our meals, the food was hot and tasty although the vegetables were a just little bit too al dente. The waiting staff were young, pleasant and helpful and although not very knowledgeable about some of the food they cheerfully sought out the answers to our questions. We never felt rushed )and I so hate feeling rushed when I'n out for a meal!) and all in all we had a pleasant evening and would return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shropshiretraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“nice pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

well priced pub food served in a pleasant dining area good selection of beers and wines spirits etc nice to sit on a sunny day on the outside seating looking south to the historic ludford bridge and the street that i spent many a happy day in my early life .

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank lefteris52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing