We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Study visit with shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ludlow Food Centre

Ludlow Food Centre
Ranked #1 of 9 Shopping in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted Great Taste Awards Shop of the Year 2015, Britain's Best Food Hall 2014 Winner of the UK's Best Farm Shop Award 2013 Makers of Best Blue Cheese at the British Cheese Awards 2013 Gold Medals at the world marmalade Awards In house Butchery, Dairy, Jams, Bakery, Coffee roasting and Kitchen The Ludlow Food Centre is a unique food shopping experience, where farming, food production and retailing meet to create a very special environment. The shopping area is surrounded by 8 food production kitchens where you can see food being produced through large picture windows. Ludlow Kitchen nesxt door serves the same locally sourced food in a relaxed and informal atmosphere.
Furudal, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Study visit with shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great range of excellent local (and international) food. Are now waiting for new coffe shop and garden centre to start their services.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaSueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    135
    53
    28
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Well done - what a good idea!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

On a regular trip to the area, but our first since December, we were dismayed to find the cafe closed and undergoing building work. Before reluctantly going off into Ludlow for lunch, we popped into the food centre, and saw that they have set up a temporary cafe on the first floor. It is small, with a limited choice of food, and yes, plastic cutlery and corrugated paper cups because there is no washing up facility. However, the staff were superb, as usual, and the food was very good quality. The room is bright, with a window onto the shop and with the chairs and tables from the original cafe. I chose the stew of the day, which was beef with soy and ginger - an extremely tasty stew, served with chunks of good bread and butter. OK, it was served in a throw away pot and on a throw away plate, but I just think there has been some brilliant planning in setting up a temporary home for the cafe, rather than offering nothing at all. My husband's bacon, brie and cranberry toastie was excellent, as was the coffee, although we missed the cafetiere we usually opt for. All in all, they are to be commended for ingenuity in the face of adversity. Oh, and I rather think the prices are reduced, probably to compensate for the lack of proper crockery and cutlery. We are excited to see the renovated and extended cafe, which apparently opens at Easter. I am looking forward also to having a glass of wine with my meal!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1204maggiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fresh Fresh Fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lots and lots of Fresh food and veg. You name it, and you will find it here. Fantastic meat, very trash veg, wonderful breads and drink too.
The cafe restaurant is first class too, wonderful staff and tasty food and drinks.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Coffee and cake in the (temporary) cafe was let down by awful wooden disposable cutlery - yes I know it's green and recyclable but not the most pleasant to use! Prices in the cafe were moderately high but service was friendly and attentive. We've been to better farm shops - the selection of foods was not great but maybe better in season (we visited in January 2013).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jandabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward799, General Manager at Ludlow Food Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you the comment on the cutlery in our temporary café. I emphasise the word temporary as this explains the need for the cutlery. Rather than have no offer whilst redeveloping our café, and in preference to laying off staff in difficult times, we decided to create a temporary café, without the dishwasher facilities to provide crockery as usual, hence the disposable cutlery. I agree that the wooden versions were awful, and have substituted plastic.
I would however like to pick up on your criticism of our range. We produce most of the food ourselves, scratch baking 25 types of bread seven days a week, 20 different cakes as well as biscuits and cookies, and with our own ready meals approximately 25 at one time. We make 7 of our own cheeses, some of which have won awards at the World Cheese Awards as well as carrying a range of a further 60 farmhouse cheeses. We make our own ice cream and churn butter. Our butchery carries a wide range of cuts of beef, lamb and Gloucester Old Spot pork, all from our own farm for which we have been recognised by the meat industry many times. We make award winning sausages and bacon, available throughout the year. Our deli is well stocked with quiches, salads, pies and scotch eggs, all made by us. We also roast our own coffee. In terms of bought in produce we have been listed by the Campaign for Real Ale for our local beer and cider selection, and support small local artisan producers of a wide range of foods. All in all we believe that we carry an excellent selection, with a true local story.
However, don’t take my word for it. I was proud two days ago, on behalf of my hard working colleagues, to receive the award for UK’s Best Farm shop.
Edward Berry
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Please take your apron off before visiting the Wc and wash your hands”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

In the wc next to the temporary cafe above the food hall there are A3 size posters requesting customers to wash their hands.

There should also be one telling cafe staff to remover their aprons, with a tea towel in the waistband, before entering the wc. Then that their hands should be washed correctly rather than giving them a casual rinse after using the facility. Then to make matters worst by combing their hair without futher use of the tap or basin.

Having witnessed this, one is left what wondering what other basic rules of hygiene are ignored in the establishment.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank cyclistdavid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward799, General Manager at Ludlow Food Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for this entry. I make no excuse and we have dealt swiftly with the issue. Please be assured that despite what your observations lead you to believe, we aim for the highest standards of hygiene, train and monitor consistently and are proud to have 5 Stars for Food Hygiene.
Please do return, and if so ask for me as I would be delighted to introduce you to our Health and Safety Officer and show you personally how we operate.
Edward Berry
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ludlow Food Centre also viewed

Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Ludlow Food Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing