We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place attached to a Hotel”
Review of Chez Maw

Chez Maw
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Maw is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With a sunny light-filled dining room and two AA Rosettes, Chez Maw restaurant in Shropshire is guaranteed to impress even the most fanatical foodies. Located in Ironbridge near Telford, Chez Maw enjoys picturesque views looking out over the parklands, gardens and the River Severn - ideal for post-dining strolls - and the understated dining room has been recently refurbished in a chic palette of vanilla and blonde wood. The restaurant has a brilliant modern British menu, and we love the pressed Wenlock Edge ham hock and parsley terrine with red cabbage and apple puree; the fillet of Welsh Black beef cooked in a shallot marinade served with potato fondant, buttered spinach and a poached egg; and the mocha panna cotta.
teford
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice Place attached to a Hotel”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were the only couple in at the time, food was ok but not spectacular, service was good though.......

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank benion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    34
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Have eaten here a few times and always found both food and service to be very good. There is plenty of choice on the menu with vegetarian options. The bar area is lovely with comfy sofas to relax on before and after your meal. There is an outdoor terrace area that looks over the park, which would be great in summer.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Violet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chez Maw”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

staff issues food issues, 1st visit December 2011, Terrible, £75.00 given to us as compensation. Food very expensive. Never going again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great meal great location”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great meal on Saturday 7th July, bit concerned when we arrived as the car park was pretty full, obviously a wedding at the hotel. Need not have worried, didnt hear a thing & the fact that they were catering for a large number of guests at the wedding did not affect the quality of food that we tasted. The restaurant is at the rear of the hotel, very intimate, decor lovely only about 6 tables in use, not sure why it was so quiet. it deserved to be full.
I originally tried to book 'The Inn at Grinshill' but they said they were busy at 7-30pm so we would have to go before 7pm or after 8-30pm which we could not manage, attitude of woman I spoke to not good, no compromise there!
When I rang 'Chez Maw' I spoke to a very helpful young lady who said they had a table booked at 7-30pm, but she spoke to the chef who said they could seat us at 7-45pm, so much more helpful & so I booked it, we were not dissapointed.
Sat in the lounge at the rear of the hotel, lovely views across the gardens & walks to the river severn. Very helpful staff bought us canapes while we chose from a really interesting menu, the 5 of us really struggled to decide, & there were some lovely dishes on the veggie menu also, as well as specials, such as the starter 'Stilton mousse with red wine & poached pears' which my friend said was really delicious. 2 of us chose the 'scallops' which were cooked to perfection with a lovely sauce, another 'smoked salmon with a hot horseraddish mouse', which he was really pleased with & 'asparagus soup', which was full of different flavours, but surprisingly the teenager who chose this didnt like the 'welsh rarebit' which was with it, I thought it looked great & would have eaten it if her father hadnt got to it first!
The mains were very good my 'cod with a sundried tomatoe crust with a ham hock & potatoe terrine' was full of flavour, as was the 'pork 'off the specials menu. The teenager chose the 'braised shoulder of lamb with boulanger potatoes' & declared it the best meal she had ever had. The men were a little dissapointed with their 'sirloin steak', saying it had grizzle in it & that they had tasted better at The Raven at Much Wenlock. The desserts were just as good, but very filling. I am really surprised that this restaurant is only No 2 of 5 in Ironbridge, I would have expected it to be No 1 from the experience that we had. The service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble, & because us girls hadnt finished our wine it was 're-capped' & sent home with us, we will certainly be going again, dont be put off by the fact 'Chez Maw' is at The Valley Hotel which is a Best Western Hotel, it was very very good & well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue10F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This restaurant is in the Best Western hotel.

The restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive.

We were offered a drink in the bar first where we browsed the menu and ordered.

We were taken through to our table when our food was ready.

The bar area is very comfy with lovely soft sofas.

The menu was extensive with a vegetarian section - quite unusual.

We had a lovely potato, onion and garlic soup to start. However the main followed very quickly - feeling a little rushed and was fairly average in quality.

As the starter and main had followed so quickly we did not feel like a desert, although the choices looked very nice.

We dined on a Saturday night and the restaurant was very quiet with only one other couple and a party of 6.

A wedding was going on at the other end of the hotel but this did not impact us at all as the bar is kept designated for diners.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsACJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Maw also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Chez Maw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing