We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland food”

The Golden Ball Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ironbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Golden Ball Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Ironbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a meal on Saturday, it is a nice pub but food wasnt great at all.

Not a large menu to choose from but it all sounded lovely, however, I ordered the chicken and chorizo in tomato sauce with penne pasta - BIG MISTAKE. The chicken and chorizo was sitting on a large pile of penne pasta, which I expected to have been coated in tomato sauce, however the sauce (what there was of it) was watery and had no flavour at all. This dish cost £9.95 and was definately not worth it.

Very disappointing - will not be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dplay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 82 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Golden Ball is an old character pub & certainly one of the best in Ironbridge. The food is gastro pub but plain fare is also available. The staff are efficient & friendly & there is a wide range of real ales & a selection of continental beers such as Leffe, on draft. In the last few months it has improved greatly owing in large part to the new management & their staff. I'd recommend it as one of the best pubs in the Gorge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Must agree with the other member who feel's it not as good as it was! The food and selection here used to be excellent, it was more like a restaurant than a pub and you could rely on different food. Being locals we have tried all the pubs in Ironbridge (all serving the same pub grub) and decided it had been a while since visiting this place main reason being that its a little further for us to walk. Firstly the main I wanted had run out and no one had bothered writing on the board (or even rubbing it off) that it was no longer on the menu. And secondly my white wine was only coldish and not very cold as one would like in this weather.
The food itself was nice and fresh but unfortunatly not the restaurant quality it used to be! I really think they are missing a trick as for someone wanting a little more than nice pub grub they could have a real following. Shame as staff are really obliging. Unfortunatly in these hard times pubs can't rely on their past reputation considering the stiff competion from the beautifully placed Woodbridge.Hope this helps!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelorMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Golden Ball on our Land's End -John O'Groats trip. The staff were really happy to store our bikes somewhere safe (in an annex of their kitchen storage as it turned out), which was great.

We weren't expecting much from the pub - I think the fact that everywhere we tried beforehand was booked up made us slightly wary. But we couldn't have been more wrong!

From the get-go, the staff (one lovely girl in particular, whose name we didn't catch, which was a shame) were lovely. Really kind and friendly. Our room was quite boutiquey and a bit bling, which was good fun! The bathroom was absolutely huge, with a bath as well as shower. Everything you'd want and more in terms of equipment.

We had dinner in the pub restaurant (they also did cheaper pub meals in the lounge) & the food was really beautiful. Worth every penny.

In the morning, we wanted to set off quite early and were worried that the breakfast times would set us behind schedule (owing to the fact that this was a Saturday morning, their service times run just slightly later). So we asked whether we could have a slightly earlier breakfast and the staff (the lovely girl aforementioned!) were happy to do this for us, which really generous. We were then asked whether we wanted a packed lunch to take away with us, which was gratefully accepted. We asked how much she wanted for it and she asked for a fiver for both of us, which was brilliant.

All in all, a fabulous stay with fantastic hosts. Should be higher in the trip advisor ratings!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Welcoming and good food and beer. Enjoyed the Golden Ball over the years because of good beer, good priced food, miserable staff (funny to watch). Recently closed and reopened with new proprieters and now we have great beer, smaller menu but excellent, and great friendly staff!!! Seabass, warm chicken amd chorizo salad is to die for, warm camembert starter, steak great. Well worth a visit and welcomes tourists and visitors much more now.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank houghielizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Greeted with a smile and a warm welcome from both locals and the owners....food was made fresh and offered quite a variety...the quality of the main was superb and after having such beautiful food a pudding was a definite!...this was also lovely....we didn't want to leave and will visit there again in the near future. Over all good value for money....well worth a visit.

Room Tip: I'd book a table if visiting on a Fri or Sat night....we were there for 7 and hadn't booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was my first visit to the Golden Ball and I will certainly be back. The staff were very helpful, the food was absolutely delicious and there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere in the bar. I had the steak ciabatta I enjoyed every morsel. I asked the lady behind the bar for her recommendation on the choice of red wines available. She recommended the Shiraz and it was spot on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lesils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ironbridge hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bird in Hand Inn
The Bird in Hand Inn
#3 of 10 in Ironbridge
221 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
999 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#1 of 10 in Ironbridge
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Hart Ironbridge
The White Hart Ironbridge
#4 of 10 in Ironbridge
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Ball Inn

Address: 1 Newbridge Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ironbridge
Price Range: $70 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Golden Ball Hotel Ironbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing