We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear.”
Review of The Malthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Malthouse
Ranked #6 of 10 Ironbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2010

The rudest management that you could ever have the misfortune to "meet". The Malthouse should be renamed Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Greenband66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowley83, Manager at The Malthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2010

This person had to be escorted off the premises with the aid of the police!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 446 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2010

We recently stayed at the Moat House with my parents for one night and booked the Penthouse. It was described as 2 bedrooms, however 1 room was twin beds with a shared bathroom for the apartment and the 2nd bedroom was on a mezanie so there was no real privacy. The apartment however was lovely, the decor was amazing and very clean. The staff were friendly enought when we checked in so we decided to have a quick drink whilst deciding what to do for the night. However there were a crowd of local lads sitting outside shouting obcenities at passing girls and made us feel very uncomfortable (especially because i was with my mum and dad). Because of this we decided not to eat there. When we returned later there were about 100 or more people outside and a band was playing. The atmosphere seemed good but we had to close our windows, on a very hot night, to try to sleep. This went on till late. The breakfast was nothing special, a hot water urn with sachets of coffee or tea bags etc, nothing fresh. The cooked breakfast was lovely. I wouldnt stay again, as i thought it was pricey for what it was, but if you do stay, you should certainly pick the penthouse.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRH71uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowley83, Owner at The Malthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2010

Thanx for picking the penthouse, Glad you enjoyed it, just a note to other travellers dont quite understand the note about the bathrooms as there are 2 of them, one on each floor.
The Penthouse is not pricey at £35 a head for 4 sharing. All Breakfasts are cooked to order, ask our chefs are quite good, just ask...............

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Me and my fiance recently had a romantic weekend staying at the malthouse hotel and restaurant in ironbridge, telford, shropshire.

We would highly recommend the malthouse as the place to stay and have a relaxing break at a great price.
From the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff who throughout the stay were helpful and professional at all times.
We are regulars to the uk holiday resorts, and i can honestly say that we had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed walking around ironbridge and the surrounding areas. There is so much to do and see we just cant wait for our next break.
The rooms were really nicely designed and decorated, and the food was superb.
Overall we would definetely recommend the malthouse to any one wanting a nice break and a really nice area of shropshire.
We will be going back again very soon, many thanks again,
The James family

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazza1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowley83, Owner at The Malthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2010

Customer rating 9.5/10, you didnt finsh the last bottle of wine. 0.5 fine for unfinished beverages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Went to the malthouse with friends for a jewellery party and the live music- had a great night and the staff were all friendly and welcoming. The food was lovely, especially the homemade cheesecake! Stayed in one of the rooms upstairs, which is a beautifully decorated boutique-type B&B. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and would definitely go again. Would definitely recommend!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 441Colclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Me and my friends stayed for my birthday, for a weekend, last weekend and stayed 2 nights too, the food was amazing, not to mention the hospitality from the family run pub and restaurant!! the decor was classy n modern and location was over looking river! the live bands at night topped it off! deff comin back nect month for another friends bday! welldone to all staff @ malt! keep up good work! u akl work very hard to make this place what it is! :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amylou1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stopped and had sunday lunch with partner on 13.06.10. and ordered off the specials menu, we had tomato soup and prawn cocktail starters£4.95 & £6.50 which was average but very expensive. For our main meal we had pork and lamb sunday lunch. The pork was tastless and bland with soft 'crackling'. The amount was also very poor. The lamb tasted bland and very chewy. We beleieved it had been reheated as it was hard around the outside and warm inside. Both were very bland and for £12.95 i expect something very special. It was gastro pub food prices but unfortunatly back street cafe food.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alex19681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Spending the night here to celebrate my birthday, i was served a pint that smelled and tasted of curry, probaly a sign of poor cleanliness, not being a complainer i persevered, but after 1/2 a pint i could stand no more so i went back to the bar to get the remaining 1/2 changed, with skant regard for my feedback, i was given a new glass, but with the same curry tasting beer inside, and little sign of listening to the complaint. so in a polite manner i informed the bar manager i would take my custom to another establishment, and left the bar area to get my group to leave, seconds later the bouncer ask's me to leave, so as a sober law abiding citizen i do. After returning from a birthday trip i phone the owner to talk about my treatment, and am told i must have been abusive / drunk, and she was sure the cctv would show this, which i was totally happy for her to watch. Phoning back today, her husband threatens to come and find me and beat me up, oh what a nice place to spend you hard earned money, try the swan next door, me and my friends will be from now on, well until after closing down night, when we will return to support the new owners.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pooh99telford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
0.3 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
999 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
Library House
Library House
#2 of 10 in Ironbridge
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#1 of 10 in Ironbridge
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malthouse

Address: The Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ironbridge
Price Range: $73 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Malthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly business where we treat customers how we like to be treated, you may not always like our design but you will always remember us. No matter your age, everyone is young at heart really and loves to have fun and thats what we are all about. We have many different Rooms and Suites including a Penthouse. we have Live Bands every Friday and Saturday night and food served all day until 10pm everyday. We look forward to seeing you and making New friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Malthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malthouse Hotel Ironbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing