We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday night birthday meal”
Review of The Malthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Malthouse
Ranked #7 of 9 Ironbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Admittedly we did not reserve a table, but upon arrival we were offered a table for 2 which was at the rear of the restaurant in the walkway of the path to the rear garden area. We requested to move but prior to that the waiter had disappeared! We felt the restaurant is run unprofessionally by what seemed to be run by over weight men dressed in black. It is a shame that the staff have not had the basics of customer care training, in relation to manners, dress code and waiter service this definately needs addressing.

A shame really as this could be a really good business if run like a business. The food was really good just the whole ambience and having to sit right opposite the reception area with the local overweight males hanging around was not pleasant at all.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowley83, Owner at The Malthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for your review on the fat smelly staff & Locals, they have now been enlisted on FAT CAMP , Health & Hygiene courses, Fashion & etiquette lessons. Once they have all met their target weight & Hygiene levels they will all be issued with new uniforms, unfortunately we cannot enlist the locals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 435 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

My Husband and I have just returned from a lovely stay at this hotel.
We were pleasantly greeted at check in and shown to our room (Jade room) which was decorated with an animal print design which I loved.
The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean and cosy. Bathroom was clean and tidy. Lovely tea and coffee assortment and we both commented how nice it was to see more that 2 little pots of milk. I would have liked a wall mounted mirror within the room as I had a little difficulty when straightening my hair as the mirror available is a medium sized free standing mirror on quite a low dressing table but I managed and in no way did this hinder the enjoyment of my stay.
We decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant and at first glance the menu prices appear a little steep, however the service we received was fantastic. The only advice I would like to give to the hotel if they are reading this is I think you may want to consider reducing the portion size of your starters, as by the time we got to our main we were already quite full and unable to finish our mains, which was a great shame as it was delicious.
The only noise that disturbed us was slamming doors, however I have experienced this issue in many other hotels so not a biggy and I was fast asleep by 12pm, but slight alteration to the anti slam devices at the top of the doors may resolve this problem.
Great choice and service at breakfast, my Husband opted for the full English breakfast and I chose the scrambled egg and bacon on toast. Service was fast and food was yummy. Great coffee too!
All the staff I encountered were friendly, professional and smart, seem like a good bunch of people.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would eat in the restaurant if maybe the portions are reduced or perhaps just have a main.
Overall we were both very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VICKMEISTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Elaine and I spent last weekend with 4 of our friends at The Malthouse and as usual the standard was very high, from the unusual decor to the fantastic food. This break gave us a bit of sun, a bit of drink, a bit of good food, a bit of good live music, a bit of a walk through the forest and a bit of ............everything that does you good. Highly recommended, been a few times now and will be back. A very relaxing weekend, thank you to all at The Malthouse.

Room Tip: Have been in Jade room, Pink room and Red room all of which were excellent. Jade,green and pink room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raygcoach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent 3 days in The Malthouse in July. The decoration is the first thing you will notice when you walk in as it is not what you would expect in a little village! The Malthouse offers something for everyone. The food is superb (make sure you try and white chocolate and strawberry cheesecake) with plenty of choice and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are clean and the decor is absolutely fantastic. If you are after live music then Fri and Sat nights are for you.

On the downside we were initially booked into the Loft room which does not have a window or a shower and does tend to be rather warm. We then moved to the Jade room which was great but when you read that it can be noisy on a Fri and Sat it means NOISY, the band may as well be in your room! However, this is well documented and not a problem if you join in or there are other rooms that are quieter.

Room Tip: The Loft room would be great in Winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 72Denise72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in the Penthouse suite, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with a kitchen, which is great for a family, or two couples. The suite is in a separate building with a delightful with a view of the river, the decor is very bold and colourful but works! One of the bathrooms has a shower attachment to the bath, but you can only use it as a sit down shower. There were two flights of stairs to the apartment and the apartment has a spiral staircase to the second ensuite bedroom, so you have to be able to cope with the stairs. The Malthouse is in a good location for exploring the Ironbridge area and there is parking at the pub. The food in the restaurant was very good and our breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A refreshing change..... The decor is not what you expect however its quirky and certainly retains its character.. The food is good value and served well, The menu is creative and in no way run of the mill pub food..
Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shropshirelad049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We've just come home after a 3 night stay here.
We had 2 rooms (the Chocolate & Rock Suite) with our own private courtyard.
Rooms a decent size, comfortable, clean, good amenities, though I would've preferred a bath but all in all very adequate. Room decor was loud, fun and a bit different.
Value for money not too bad, breakfast was included and was delicious, freshly cooked and good portion sizes. We did have lunch there and an evening meal, both of good quality and their chips are amazing.
Great location. Can be a bit noisy on a Friday night but we knew this in advance so not a problem.
Friendly owner (Gaynor I think), I would recommend to others. Can't fault a thing. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ironbridge hotels
0.0 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
0.3 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
956 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#1 of 9 in Ironbridge
101 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bird in Hand Inn
The Bird in Hand Inn
#2 of 9 in Ironbridge
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart Ironbridge
The White Hart Ironbridge
#4 of 9 in Ironbridge
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malthouse

Address: The Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ironbridge
Price Range: $83 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Malthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly business where we treat customers how we like to be treated, you may not always like our design but you will always remember us. No matter your age, everyone is young at heart really and loves to have fun and thats what we are all about. We have many different Rooms and Suites including a Penthouse. we have Live Bands every Friday and Saturday night and food served all day until 10pm everyday. We look forward to seeing you and making New friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Malthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malthouse Hotel Ironbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing