We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from the crowds”

The Golden Ball Inn
Ranked #14 of 29 Restaurants in Ironbridge
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Away from the crowds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We had Sunday lunch here on one of the first warm weekends of the year and chose this pub as we knew how busy it would be in Ironbridge itself. The staff were very friendly and the quality of the food was very good. The choice is wide enough to suit most people, being chosen from a menu written on a board near the bar. Service was quick. A very enjoyable meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    55
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dog friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Dog friendly and good food, not a large menu choice but enormous portion and extremely good food. ( dogs only allowed in bar area which is totally understandable)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RachaelDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great evening at friendly Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

A miserable, wet and cold evening in February and we nearly cancelled our booking. So glad we didn't. The service was quick and staff were warm and friendly. Our food was excellent and well presented so would recommend a visit to lift weather dampened spirits!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely home cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The menu's are all chalked up on various boards around the bar and the restaurant, and there is a very good selection. The service was excellent and very attentive and I had a lovely starter and main course, cooked to perfection. I hope I get the chance to go back there again soon

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gastro Pub Grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I can honestly say that the food in the Golden Ball Pub in Ironbridge is first class! The menu changes frequently & provides imaginative choices of starters, main courses & deserts comparing more than favourably with any other local public house & at reasonable prices. The Golden Ball also offers a variety of snacks such as baguettes, sandwhichs & bowls of chips for very inexpensive rates of & of good quality. They can also boast a good selection of real ales & world beers such as Leffe Belgian beer, which prove very popular. The pub itself has lots of atmosphere & is older than the Ironbridge, so locals check it out if you haven't already & folks on holiday make sure it's on your list of 'must do' places in the locale.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Ball Inn also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to The Golden Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing