We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick Drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tontine

The Tontine
Ranked #21 of 29 Restaurants in Ironbridge
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quick Drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We only had a quick drink at The Tontine. We sat outside as we had my in laws dog with us, however it was wonderful as you look straight out over the bridge and can see all the wonderful scenery. The prices were good for 2 pints and 2 halves, they had specials on with the ales which made both the husband and father in law pleased!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessb2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
machousley47@aol.co.uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quaint pub in a picture town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Good ale a popular pub with the locals and bang in the centre of IRONBRIDGE, only problem is parking it's a 10 minute walk to and from the car park,

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank machousley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Glam South Wales
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great spit and sawdust local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

That's not a slur, this seems a great local and while there they served a very cheap, popular, and gorgeous carvery. spent a few hours enjoying the view and a few jars. Friendly staff, nice pint (or 2)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BluebirdFACup08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Fantastic Sunday carvery with a great view next to the river. Great price and decent food.

Will definitely be back again time and time again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bugsplatter2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lord of the manor..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I found this place dull and unwelcoming..landlord lords it round the pub,and unless you are really friendly with him..he,ll be funny with you,plus if you complain he,ll argue the point with you..food is cheap and cheerful..atmosphere all depends on how many locals are in..landlord acts like lord of the manor,more so when locals are there..won,t be going back felt uncomfortable in the place...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna45688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tontine1, Owner at The Tontine, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear grumpy ex-customer. Have you ever thought that it is you who is dull and unwelcoming. I would imagine this to be the case. As for "LORDING it round the pub"............hmmm.... not so sure about that. I like to show my face to see what is going on and say hello to people. However the clue is in the job title LAND.....LORD. Quite a good play on words there. I will let you think about it though. I imagine it will take a while.
When you say I'm "funny with people" do you mean funny haha ? as i love to crack a joke or 2. Is this what this is about ? Do you think my jokes are rubbish ?
As for complaints about the food etc, we don't get any so i have nothing to argue about.
Now lets talk about "atmosphere". OF COURSE it depends on how many locals are in at this time of year. It has probably escaped your attention that there is a great big iron bridge opposite this building and oddly enough this quaint little village is called Ironbridge. There could be a connection there but again i will give you a month to work it out. Ironbridge is a tourist area. When the tourists are gone we rely on our locals and locals are people and people create atmosphere. Tadaaaaaa !!!
Unfortunately it sounds as if you did not contribute towards the "atmosphere" apart from to make it an unpleasant one.
Anyway to sum up. Try being "friendly" yourself and i will reciprocate. If you walk in with a face like the world is gonna end there is only so much i can do.
If your not coming back to this fine pub then i can only see it as a win win situation. But please find a hobby or something rather than writing this absolute rubbish here because as LORD OF THE MANOR it is my duty to respond and as LORD OF THE MANOR I have better things to do.
Now if you will excuse me i have an appointment with the Queen and my chauffeur hasn't even finished whipping the servants yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tontine also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to The Tontine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing