We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home from home guest house”
Review of Library House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Library House
Ranked #3 of 10 Ironbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2007

This is a lovely guest house, a must for anyone visiting Ironbridge Gorge. I stayed for one night whilst on business in the area and would have no hesitation in returning.

There are only three bedrooms, which are large, nicely furnished and beautifully kept. My room had a king sized bed and lovely bathroom, with fluffy towels and free toiletries. There is an excellent guests lounge and farmhouse style breakfast room. It is run by Lizzie who creates a home from home welcome and atmosphere.

The location could not be better, being 2 minutes from the ironbridge and the facilities of the village. For those on business, there is easy access to Telford. Since Lizzie also lives in the house with her husband and daughter, she is able to provide a locals view of places to eat etc.

Breakfast is chosen the night before and cooked freshly by Lizzie. It beats any hotel cooked breakfast hands down.

Overall, at a price considerably less than any decent hotel, you get a personal service in a beautifully furnished home. Why look anywhere else?

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank majorstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 239 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2006

Cozy room, clean facilities, excellent breakfast and hospitable host. Good access to all museums etc in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Moneychanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2006

We were personally welcomed, offered a drink in the lounge, showed up to the most elegant bedrooms. It was my Father-in -law's 80th birthday and he was most royally looked after. The whole atmosphere was one of " only the best " for the guests. We were introduced to Fizz the family dog who is a true treasure.
The breakfast lived up tp the 5 star billing, wholesome and fresh, with a vegetarian version available.
The Library House is situated literally just 60 metres from the Iron Bridge and a couple of excellent pubs and restauarants, "7 "being the one we chose on the recommendation of the owners. We would have stayed more nights if it had been feasible as the way it presented itself was one of " most welcoming".
So we are recommending it to all our friends and will definitely return there
You wont find 2 more likeable and accomodating hosts.

Stayed: November 2006
5  Thank roywolfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

Old brick home with large rooms (king size beds), sparkling clean ensuites with view of gorge.

Lizzie (host), Fizzy (dog) and husband Robert (weekends only) open their home to you and provide helpful hints to visit and eat. They even have a bar licence at very reasonable prices. Internet around the corner 3 doors down.

Breakfast was absolutely amazing, including fresh muffins, fruit great coffee and a fabulous fry-up. Nothing was spared.

Highly recommend - this is not your usual B&B but rather a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2006

My wife and I just returned from a visit to the Iron Bridge Gorge area and spent 2 wonderful nights at the Library House, just across from the northern end of the actual Iron Bridge. Lizzie, the hostess, was friendly and most helpful in all ways. Even though the weather was chilly and a bit bleak, she helped make our visit most enjoyable. We would not hesitate to stay at the charming Libary House again.

Too many museums and much else to see in the area for only two days. Highly recommend this B & B and the area to everyone. There are a number of very nice places to eat within a few minutes walk too.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ralph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sussex
18
Reviewed February 24, 2006

Fantastic stay, hosts very welcoming. My room was large, wonderful bed (so comfy) and excellent shower in the morning!! Breakfast was out of this world. If I get the chance, will defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gusuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ironbridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
986 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
0 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#1 of 10 in Ironbridge
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bird in Hand Inn
The Bird in Hand Inn
#2 of 10 in Ironbridge
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart Ironbridge
The White Hart Ironbridge
#4 of 10 in Ironbridge
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library House

Address: 11 Severn Bank | Ironbridge, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ironbridge
Price Range: $133 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library House is a beautifully restored and furnished Grade II Listed Georgian townhouse bed & breakfast business. It is situated in the heart of the historic town of Ironbridge, the home of the Industrial Revolution and itself a World Heritage Site. It is a short walk from the town's restaurants and bars; and equidistant from the town's seven museums. The Library House has four en-suite bedrooms, where possible decorated with antique furniture and artworks. The emphasis is on high quality service and levels of comfort, ensuring leisure and business travellers have a true "home from home" experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Library House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing