We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Another nice stay”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here on Friday night. As usual a warm and friendly welcome. Room comfortable and warm. Nice breakfast. Overall we couldn't fault our stay. Good base for some nice walks. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Previous Guest,
It was great to welcome you back for a return stay in the hotel, and now learn of your enjoyment with all aspects. We do have some wonderful walking in and around the Gorge and we certainly hope to welcome you back to enjoy some more of this wonderful area.
We look forward to seeing you again soon...
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    310
    75
    29
    14
See reviews for
123
488
19
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Spent a lovely weekend in the Best Western Valley Hotel, Ironbridge with my husband. The staff were very pleasant. would recommend the Restaurant, food was delightful. Lovely view out onto the river. Very comfortable room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Previous Guest,
I am delighted to learn of your enjoyment of your recent weekend stay with us, in particular of the food, service and stunning views we have overlooking the park. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Went for a Post Christmas function, food was very good considering the number of people being served, was also informed that the rooms were very good, I can only compliment it on the staff, they were very helpful and everything you want from hotel staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbigroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Previous Guest,
I am very pleased to learn of your enjoyment of a recent function in the hotel. Thank you for your staff compliments these are appreciated by the entire team. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon, perhaps for an overnight stay or a meal in our 2 AA Rosette awarded Chez Maw Restaurant.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Nice hotel, ideally situated for visiting Ironbridge Gorge and Museums. Plenty of parking, superb food and excellent friendly and professional staff. Our room (10), a good size double aspect room was ok but the electric heating took a while to warm the room on what was a cold wet day, It overlooked the car park and what is probably a lovely garden, which unfortunately at the time of our visit was mainly underwater from the River Severn. The communal areas of the hotel were all warm and presumably were served by the main central heating system. Can certainly recommend this hotel for it's situation, food and great staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lively4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Previous Guest,
Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel, we are all delighted to learn of your enjoyment of the stay, particularly our award wining food and service. The River has started to get back to normal, so the lovely view of the park is being restored! Just in time for Spring.. We very much hope to welcome you back again soon..
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Valley Hotel. We don't often write reviews but felt that the service and friendliness of all the staff deserved a mention. Our room on the top floor overlooked what would have been lovely gardens but at the moment is now part of the River Severn. The room itself was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. Having booked in with the very friendly reception staff we decided to book a meal in the Chez Maw restaurant. Eating out can be a problem for us as my wife has to have a salt free diet but this proved to be no trouble at all for the chef who cooked everything fresh to order, even at breakfast. Word soon spread amongst the waiting staff and she was often greeted by ' are you the lady with the salt problem? ' It was so nice for her not to have to mention it more than once. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandbar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Previous Guest,
Thank you taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to learn of your enjoyment of the stay and that all of your dietary requirements were efficiently catered for. It is great to hear of you intention to return, we look forward to welcoming you back.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at 'The Valley' on several occasions in past few years. Son got married here a few years ago! Great hotel with lovely staff and amazing breakfasts! Good to see a quality hotel selling traditional real ales in it's lounge bar!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank dournazac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Previous Guest,
It is always wonderful to welcome regular and returning guests. We are all delighted to learn of your feedback. Our local real Ales are very popular with all of our guests, so it must be good! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Valley Hotel - Iron Bridge.

Booked this place after perusing several offers from Travelzoo.

After initial reservations as to the detail of the actual offer we went ahead and traveled to Iron Bridge then under siege from the Severn.

Originally named Severn House this is an imposing building set quite high in "The Gorge" and overlooking the Severn.

The decor and color scheme was dated but the architectural merit and condition of the place was good including an add on street type setting effectively an annex for additional modern rooms.

We had a room in the main hotel with a view across park and swollen Severn.

Reception and check in were very friendly and efficient with ample guidance on dinner and breakfast arrangements.

We had already eaten so we had a drink in the bar and settled into our room and went down for breakfast at 9am.

Within minutes I could tell we had a well run dining room with experienced and friendly staff.
We wanted for nothing as the breakfast was being freshly cooked to order.
After a chat with several staff I realised some of them had been part of the team for many years and clearly enjoyed their working environment.

We went for a walk around Iron Bridge and then a drive to Telford for lunch.

Arriving back for dinner at the restaurant we realised the place was buzzing and the staff were coping admirably and professionally with a sizeable number of diners.

Dinner in this AA 2 Rosette Restaurant was very good and when I inquired we found that the current Chef had been there 15 years!

In essence this place is extremely well run by a well trained team and supported by quality knowledgeable management.

From Reception to Bar to Restaurant and Housekeeping it was all exceptional and complete with Iron Bridge well worth a visit especially out of tourist season.

Room Tip: Ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TENZNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Previous Guest,

Following your recent stay with us I am delighted to learn of your enjoyment of all aspects. Your kind words and compliments are very much appreciated by all of the team. Despite the swollen River, our guests have not been affected, and I am pleased to learn you still managed to get out and see all that this wonderful World Heritage Site has to offer. We very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon, so if we can be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact us.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.3 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,192 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
2.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Property: Best Western Valley Hotel
Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have complimentary WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The 2 AA Rosette awarded Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing