We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary weekend break.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Anniversary weekend break.”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband & I chose this hotel for our anniversary weekend as we wanted to visit the Victorian village museum Ironbridge. The hotel could not be faulted in any way. All the staff were very friendly, the building was spotlessly clean and they hold a gold award in the green industry scheme. They have had two AA rosette awards for their restaurant for 12 consecutive years, they also use Fairtrade goods. The Chez Maw Restaurant is outstanding the food is excellent , we thought the prices a little high but the quality was superb. We will definitely return probably in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayGrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Previous Guest,

Thank you for the kind compliments in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. I am delighted you had an enjoyable anniversary celebration with us. We are very proud of our achievements of the AA rosettes and in Green Tourism, thank you for recognizing these.
It is wonderful to learn you intend to return. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    296
    73
    29
    13
See reviews for
116
468
16
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Conveniently situated on the river and within easy walking distance of the Ironbridge. We stayed in room 10 which was a generous size with a four poster bed. Very nice although decor was a little dated. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and the food was excellent. Al the staff were helpful and friendly and we would definitely stay here again if we were visiting this area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Previous Guest,
Following your recent trip to Ironbridge, I delighted to hear of your enjoyment of your stay at our hotel, in particular of the service and award winning food.
We trust you enjoyed exploring our wonderful local area; there are lots to see and do and so we hope to welcome you back again soon to experience a bit more!

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Beautiful and unusual quirky hotel. The part we stayed in has a courtyard feel but inside a building. Room was clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful. Didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on that. The room was a ground floor room with another directly above. This was the only issue, each time somebody in the upstairs room walked about the creaking from the ceiling was extremely loud. We were awoken several times in the night and had a very poor sleep. In fact, we missed breakfast as we only properly got to sleep after the upstairs occupants went to eat theirs!!! I would recommend the hotel but avoid the ground floor rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Previous Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. The building has lots of character and the photographs that you have taken show the bedrooms that were converted from the old stables and out buildings of the original house. This lovely light area is very popular with guests and I am glad you found it of interest.
Please accept our apologies for any disturbance from surrounding noise, we have noted your feedback in regards to this.
Our award wining Restaurant is excellent; we hope to welcome you back the hotel again and perhaps tempt you to dine and enjoy some of our excellent cuisine.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance in the future.
With regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my fiances birthday after reading good reviews on tripadviser. Well what can I say... what a beautiful hotel. On arrival the receptionist was lovely warm and friendly. Our room was large bright and had a lovely four poster bed, beautiful fire place and large clean white bathroom. The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble, they all made us feel very welcome. The evening menu is of a very high standard our meal was outstanding. There appeared to be quite alot of business people staying at the same time as us, I didnt see any other young couples at the hotel, but we still felt comfortable and relaxed. We slept really well which is great, our room was situation away from the main road so was everso quiet. And to top off an excellent stay the breakfast was smashing, great selection of cereals juice yogurts and fruit, a pot of tea and a beautifully cooked full english breakfast with all the trimmings. We reluctantly checked out the next morning. Would recommend to anyone of all ages.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Previous Guest,

I am delighted that your recent experience with us exceeded your expectations. It is always wonderful to receive such feedback particularly in terms of service from staff, your kind compliments are greatly appreciated. Thank you for all of the comments and recommendations. We very much hope to welcome you back for the next celebration or special occasion!
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Super helpful staff Evening meal was excellent,breakfast a bit chaotic never had all the items for breakfast ready at the same time but overall good and will stay there again old building struggles to keep up with modern standards but location makes up

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Previous Guest,
Following your recent weekend stay at the hotel we are pleased to learn of your enjoyment of the food and service from staff. Our location here overlooking the Gorge is wonderful even on a cold winter’s day! We very much hope to welcome you back soon..
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I came here for my works party, Saturday 18th January. I must say this is one of the best hotels in the local area I have been too. On arrival the staff were extremely friendly, taking our coats and welcoming us in. The food was absolutely delicious, I had the chicken and my friends had the beef, and both were ever so tender. I couldn't fault any of the courses as they were all really nice. The DJ was great, responding to all different types of music requests and I really enjoyed the party. Lee and Elliot on the bar, we're very professional and friendly, aswell as the waiting on staff who were also great. I really could not fault this hotel and would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Bexta92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Previous Guest,
It is wonderful learn of your enjoyment of all aspects of your recent party at the hotel. Thank you for your employee compliments, these are greatly appreciated. We very much hope to welcome you and your family, friends and colleagues back to the Hotel soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel was clean, the staff very helpful in all areas, breakfast was great and the hotel is situated near the town centre so we could visit most of the museums without having to take the car. I don't know what else to say except I can thoroughly recommend Bes Western hotels to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Previous Guest,

We are all delighted to learn of your enjoyment with all aspects of your recent stay with us. As you rightly say our location is excellent for exploring all of the local museums and attractions. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon to see some more of this wonderful world Heritage Site.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
2.1 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
4.0 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
13.7 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Property: Best Western Valley Hotel
Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have complimentary WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The 2 AA Rosette awarded Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing