We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
midlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We found the staff excellent and helpful. the food was very good and the rooms clean.
There are lovely walks along the river from here and so much to see in the area. We did find it odd that once you had bought cheese with your meal you were not allowed to take it out of the hotel with you also the bar meals had to be taken out of the bar after 8 o'clock but these were only small things.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodge011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    291
    71
    29
    13
See reviews for
114
464
16
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here on business for 4 nights. All the staff were very friendly and made me feel welcome as I was there on my own.

Room very clean with all the basic amenities. Restaurant and bar food fantastic and the gardens were lovely to sit out in after your meal.

Easy access to Ironbridge it's self with lovely walks along the river Severn.

Hope to return in the future with the family

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Previous guest
We are pleased to learn of your experience whilst staying with us for 4 nights and that our team made you feel welcome during this time away from your home. It is also good to know that you enjoyed our award wining food and that you appreciated the time after work in our wonderful location!
We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time you are on business in our area or when you fancy a break away with the family!
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

A very good base to visit Ironbridge and its museums. Our room was very big, although up several flights of stairs.
We eat at the hotel in the evening which was a pleasant surprise, very good food and very good service.
The breakfast was good but I also didnt like having to queue up to be served. I feel it would be better to be a selfservice hot breakfast or they gave you a menu and served it that way.

A very pleasant terrace and gardens the weather helped.

A really nice hotel with good and friendly service

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Cumbria.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Located adjacent to the river Severn within easy walking distance of the Historic Ironbridge and Coalbrookdale attractions. The hotel is set in small but picturesque gardens with adequate parking. Rooms are comfortable albeit the older part of the hotel can be a bit of an adventure to get to your room and the rooms can be on the small side if you are unlucky with the allocation. Generally very clean and tidy. The hotel restaurant is very good serving an excellent breakfast as well as a high standard of dinner. Staff are very pleasant, helpful and you are made to feel very welcome. The only drawback is that the hotel caters for large functions and can get quite noisy at times if your room is in the wrong location.

Room Tip: Keep away from the function facility if it is in use during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on a weekend visit to Ironbridge. The weather was great and the hotel is in a great location for visiting the museums and blists hill Victorian Town. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening but we did have breakfast which was ok. You can help yourself to cereals and things but I did not like being treated like a school child and have to be served a cooked breakfast by a member of staff, having to ask for things to be put on a plate whilst having to queue is a sign that they do not trust you to serve yourself and think everyone is greedy !!! Shame on you !!! Also there was a wedding taking place when we arrived at the hotel, we were told we could not use the bar or terrace areas due to this, they did offer to fetch a drink but come on, we payed a good amount of money to stay here and to be told you can not use the hotels facilities and no gratuity being offered is not good customer service guys. You really need to advise customers who book your hotel that a wedding is taking place during your stay, as we went up to our room about 11pm after a long day and we could not rest or sleep as we were obviously above the Severn suite where the wedding reception was being held, loud music !!! Having said this we would almost definitely stay here again, but I will 1-make sure there is no wedding happening, 2-ensure our room is not above the Severn suite, and 3-only have lots of cereals that I can help myself to unless the hotel policy on service changes for the cooked option.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank davenzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location we had booked for our daughters birthday was cancelled last minute, so we contacted the Valley Hotel on the off-chance that they could rent us a room for a few family & friends.
Although they had a wedding booked for later on, we were able to hire a nice room with refreshments.
All the staff we especially friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Previous guest
I am very pleased that we were able to help you out at the last minute with a room to celebrate your daughter’s birthday and that it was enjoyed by all. We certainly hope you will consider us for all future celebrations; we would very much like to welcome you back.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Back again to our favourite hotel & a faultless stay that even included the weather!! Room was excellent, food was superb & service was 2nd to none..If you've never stayed here you simply don't know what your missing.

Even the 2 false fire alarms couldn't spoil another perfect weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marriedc0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Previous guest,
It was great to welcome you back to the hotel for this most recent visit and that this time you had the weather, how wonderful. I am sorry for any disturbance from the fire alarms, these of course are very sensitive and efficient in ensuring the upmost safety for our guests and staff. I am pleased this did not affect the overall enjoyment of your stay.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit!
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
2.1 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
4.0 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
13.7 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Property: Best Western Valley Hotel
Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have complimentary WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The 2 AA Rosette awarded Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing