We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
U.K.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Anniversary break”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here courtesy it our Tesco vouchers. The hotel was very well situated for visiting Ironbridge, it was good to be able to park the car and head off on foot. Lovely friendly staff in reception and in the dining room / bar who were very welcoming and helpful. The room was large and absolutely spotlessly clean as was the en- suite bathroom with its proper bath and giant shower head over the bath, the bed was enormous and although our room overlooked the car park it was not at all noisy. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful, we had dinner in Chez Maw one night and it was excellent, far better than we expected for a hotel dining room. Service was excellent and the food was beautifully presented. The baked marbled chocolate cheesecake was absolutely delicious. Would definitely go back there again. Don't know if it had a pool or fitness centre as we were too busy exploring the town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear previous guest

We are delighted to learn of your enjoyment of your recent stay with us in particular of the food and service from staff, I totally agree with you on cheesecake! We don’t have a swimming pool but we do as you have suggested have so much to do and explore all within easy reach.. Its great that you will be back to see us again, we look forward to welcoming you.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    298
    74
    29
    13
See reviews for
117
472
16
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This 2 night break was booked as a surprise by my husband for your 42nd anniversary. The hotel is in The Ironbridge Gorge a super setting by the river. Service was 1 class in every respect from our arrival to departure. We dined both nights in Chez Maws restuarant food was well presented and all very nice. Breakfast was hearty what ever combination you wanted.

Staff were smiling and chatty all the time. Well impressed.

Room Tip: Room 9 has a sloping floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aud09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear previous guest,

We are really pleased that you chose our hotel to celebrate your anniversary, and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We very much hope that you choose the hotel or restaurant to celebrate your 43rd wedding anniversary and perhaps any special occasion in between! We look forward to having you back with us. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if we can provide you with any assistance in the future.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A last minute booking done whilst traveling back from Wales, with the sun shining a rare event this year we decided to divert via Ironbridge. We were not disappointed in a lovely setting,an old hotel with lovely walks from the doorstep, slightly old fashioned but that was not to its detriment it had charm and the food was an excellent surprise well cooked with lovely veg and very very good waiting staff. Despite a wedding taking place at the same time there was no noise and was kept completely separate from other guests something many of the chain hotels need to emulate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is great for leaving the car parked and hopping on buses to visit the area which has so much to offer
Thet have a wonderful restaurant Ches Maw which serves wonderful a la carte food
The staff make you feel welcome from the moment you walk through the door to the moment you leave
The rooms are well furnished and very clean
We will go back again later in the year

Room Tip: Ours was on ground floor with no lock on window So if you want to be able to open window then go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anncooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights over Easter weekend and we cannot fault a single thing about our stay; we were very impressed. The staff were all very friendly, courteous and welcoming. Our room was clean and comfortable, with excellent views from the window (Room 6) and listening to the birds on an evening/in the morning was so relaxing! Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice of cereal, fruit, yogurt and then a cooked option as well. We ate at the restaurant (Chez Maw) on the Saturday evening which was a bit of an extravagance for us, but we were blown away with the quality, presentation and flavour of the food, the ambience and excellent attitude and service from all the staff. A big thankyou too all who make this hotel a fantastic place to stay; what a team!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear previous guest,

We are really delighted to learn of your feedback following your recent Easter break with us. The enjoyment of your stay is paramount to us and it’s wonderful to learn that we have been successful in ensuring this in every aspect. Our team is very dedicated to providing excellent service and food and your kind compliments are greatly appreciated by us all. We hope you are tempted to return to us again soon; we look forward to welcoming you back and providing you with another great stay!
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for our friends wedding. First impressions were excellent, tidy clean reception area, helpful receptionist who explained where the wedding party would be in the evening. Given our room key and made the short walk to our room (room 44), we were very impressed with the room and the views of the nearby park, specious bathroom and a queen size bed which was comfortable. It had everything you would require excellent shower which kept the heat. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as we had a buffet at the wedding party, which was lovely wide variety of choices either cold/hot foods. Helpful bar staff who were happy to help. Breakfast was good and again you had wide variety of choices. Would stay again in the future if we fancy a night away.

Room Tip: Excellent shower in room 44.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy1988_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear previous guest,

Following your recent stay at our property, we are delighted to learn of your satisfaction and enjoyment with all aspects of both the wedding party and overnight stay. The Restaurant is really excellent and very much enjoyed by our guests, so we hope that you will return for a night or two away and have the pleasure of our award wining food and good service.
We look forward to welcoming you back. Please don t hesitate to contact us when you are ready to make your next booking!

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just come back from our stay at this Hotel, how wonderful it was, food excellent, staff excellent couldn't ask for anything more, would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Iron-bridge!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMS226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear previous guest

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in particular the food and the service from staff…thank you for your recommendation. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon, so please, do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance to you in the future.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.3 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
0.6 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
155 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
4.0 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,149 reviews
2.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Property: Best Western Valley Hotel
Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have complimentary WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The 2 AA Rosette awarded Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing