We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold room, warm and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Recently stayed in room 40, the thermostat didn't appear to work as how ever high it was turned up, the heating didn't kick in, however the bathroom was very warm (maybe we should have slept in there). Overall the room was pleasant and clean. We ate in the restaurant, but like a previous guest report we didn't receive any pre dinner snack on the first night. The food was freshly cooked, well presented and tasty. All the staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If you want a warm room, don't have No. 40
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaniskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Previous Guest,

Following your recent stay at our property I am sorry to learn that you experienced some difficulty with the heating in room 40. This is most unusual as these are rooms are quite newly built and are very well insulated with under floor heating. I have reported your comment to maintenance for further investigation. We do hope that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you will look to stay with us again the future. If we can be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact us.

With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Valley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

737 - 743 of 944 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a 2 night stay here and had a very good deal as we booked with a groupon offer, our room had a lovely view over the garden at the back and a very large bed which was extremely comfortable, the only problem we found with the room was that it could be very noisy when the person in the room above us was walking about at 2am and again at 6am as the floor boards were extremely creaky!
The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and very pleasant staff, it struck me how they all made of point of smiling at everyone which makes a refreshing change.
We would be more than happy to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back of the hotel overlooking the garden have a lovely view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laney199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear previous guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to learn that we provided you with an enjoyable experience. I am sorry that you were disturbed by surrounding guests very early in the morning.
Our team pride themselves on providing a friendly service and we are delighted this was positively evident. We would really like to welcome you back, so we look forward to seeing you again soon.

With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here for an winter mini break taking advantage of a Living Social deal. Staff on arrival were very friendly and welcoming. Being a listed building the room, and indeed the hotel, was quirky but that was part of it's charm. Our room (16) at the top of the main house had everything we needed and our only complaint was in the bathroom. There was an absence of any heating and the shower had very little power but the large corner bath was a surpise.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had a little problem with the waiter, who appeared to be the head waiter as we were not offered any canapes with our pre-dinner drink. My husband was given the wrong flavour ice cream and although they insisted it was correct, it was clearly not and I didn't like the dessert which was a matter of taste. However we were not charged for this and our post dinner drink and coffee was also complimentary. Despite this nice gesture the same 'head waiter' again forgot our petit fours despite twice saying he would bring them. It was a shame about this forgetful chap as all the other restaurant and bar staff were very efficient and friendly - special mention to Lee and his sister (Ann-Marie, I think). Breakfast was very good and set us up for the cold days exploring the museums and attractions with our 20% discount deal through the hotel. I was feeling a little unwell on the 2nd night so we ate in the bar area and the food in here was also good and wholesome. Despite the couple of issues, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Access to rooms upstairs in the main house are via steeps stairs so mention when booking if you have...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griffle1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Previous Guest,

We are very pleased to learn of your enjoyment of your recent stay at our property. Please accept our apologies for those few items not delivered as promised during your dining in the Restaurant, this is very unusual and has been reviewed with the team. The discounted Attraction Passports that you purchased are valid for 12 months, so I do hope that you will be back to visit us again soon and see some of what Ironbridge has to offer.
If we can provide you with any assistance in the future, please do no hesitate to contact us.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have been to the Valley Hotel several times now and LOVE it!!!!

The staff are great!!!!!!!! They are friendly, helpful and efficient! Although the standards are high there there is no stuffiness.... You feel at home. I felt this time I should write a review as its been a long time coming and should have the very first time we stayed some years ago.

The room was lovely and the shower - WOW!

The food - well this never lets you down - just go and try it!!!!!!!!

Although you can see that staff are busy and have lots to do they are always lovely.

Although all the staff young and old are great I have to comment on the young members of staff. They were great - ALL of them, polite and courteous and a sense of humour.

All I can say is try it if you are visiitng Ironbridge - You won't find any better place to stay!!!!!!!!

Thanks to you ALL - We appreciate your hard work and how you make our visits so special !!!!!

We only live 20miles from The Valley but when we visit its as if we have travelled much further - a little gem on our doorstep!!!

Thanks to ALL once again !!!!!

We look forward to our next visit !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you want a four poster then ask - they have them. If you want moderan ask for one they have them
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Previous guest

Thank you it was wonderful to read of your recent feedback following your most recent stay with us. We are really delighted that you continue to have positive experiences with us. Your kind compliments are greatly appreciated by myself and the entire team, makes all the hard work worthwhile! As always it was a pleasure to accommodate you and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here after a visit to the nearby Blists Hill museum. Yes, it is a little old fashioned but in a lovely way that adds to its charm. We found the staff to be very welcoming, friendly and efficient. In fact the young man who served us at breakfast told my wife the way to make a perfectly poached egg, and it worked !
Our room was comfortable and warm and had everything that we wanted. Breakfast was excellent and we even had a complimentary newspaper. Credit where its due, we enjoyed our stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eryl Wyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Loved this hotel. From the moment we walked in we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who was very helpful and answered all our questions. The room (28) was just right, lovely big bed and clean bathroom.

The corridor leading up to the room was one of my favourite things about the place. It was like a mini street with different coloured front doors and a road sign, a lovely touch.

We walked to all the museums from the hotel, the china museum being the furthest away but a nice walk down the river. The grounds of the hotel are green and spacious and I can imagine it would be beautiful in the summer.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Shropshire.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear previous guest,
We are very pleased to learn of you enjoyment of your recent stay with us.
The corridor you mention was once stables and servant quarters to the house that the Hotel once was. The conversion is very attractive and appreciated by all of our guests. The grounds are indeed stunning in the summer, so we hope you are tempted to come back and see us when the sun comes out!
Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were treated to a two night stay at this hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed it! The staff were friendly and helpful, and our request for a room with easy access was dealt with efficiently. The disablitiy lift certainly helped me manage to get about! Our room was well equiped with the usual things one expects froma hotel, and the bed was comfortable too!
Breakfast consisted of a varied selection of fruit, yoghurts, cereals plus a good selection of hot items for a tasty fry up!
The hotel is well situated for walks along the river and going into Ironbridge itself, to wander through the quaint craft shops etc in the village. There was also a good selection of places to have coffee or a pub meal. The museums of interest are also all within a short drive away!
All in all a place worth visiting, and good access to all of this from this hotel!

Room Tip: I imagine rooms overlooking the river have a nicer view, but our room on the roadside was spacious...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmrkjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear previous guest
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that we provided you with an enjoyable trip. We hope you will come back to enjoy some more soon! Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance to you in the future.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.3 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
2.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,208 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
0.6 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range: $91 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have complimentary WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The 2 AA Rosette awarded Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing