We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful hotel in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was one of the most outstanding hotels we've ever stayed. This hotel was not only a beautifully restored old home, but the staff, the room, the incredible gardens, the food, the ambience were outstanding. Every morning at breakfast, a lovely woman, Susan, took special care of us (and everyone else) The manager, a beautiful young woman, went out of her way to help us make arrangements to our next destination.. We loved the the nearby museums depicdting the era of the Industrial Revolution. The Iron bridge is beautiful as is the village, Ironbridge. The area is lush with beautiful trees, a canal and a river. The public Children's playground is a work of art.

Room Tip: We had room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Previous Guest,

Following your recent stay with us, we are delighted to learn of your enjoyment of the hotel and Ironbridge. I am glad we were able to assist you with your onward travel and trust you reached your destination successfully.
If we can assist you in anyway in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Thank you for your feedback.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    286
    70
    28
    12
See reviews for
110
460
16
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have spent 2 lovely nights at this hotel for the occasion of our neice's wedding. After a long journey we received a warm and friendly welcome. We were offered help with our luggage. Every member of staff were helpful and polite.The wedding was perfect in a perfect location. We found the whole experience first class.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
656 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend to visit the local museums. The whole experience was excellent; from the reception staff, the comfortable and very clean room, the quality of the breakfast and the Chez Maw restaurant, more of which in a seperate review. A huge car park and easy walking to most of the ironbridge museums (Blist Victorian museum was 2.5 miles but we walked it anyway)! A lovely hotel in a gorgeous setting and highly recommended.

Room Tip: There's no lift as the hotel is a listed building, so ask for a lower floor room if you have mob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear previous guest
We are delighted to learn of your enjoyment of your recent stay with us. Ironbridge and its surroundings have much to offer and we hope you will be back soon to enjoy some more! Thank you also for your review of the Chez Maw Restaurant..
We look forward to welcoming you back, so please do not hesitate to contact us should we be of any assistance to you.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
177 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We had always said we would visit Ironbridge and finally we did! We chose this hotel and specifically the package including entrance to all the museums as well as dinner bed and breakfast.
The hotel is old and that is part of it's charm so don't expect ultra modern. The bed was not as comfortable as it could have been - and the pillows were lumpy but we really couldn't fault anything else. The food is particularly good and service was always with a smile. Susan in the breakfast room deserves particular praise.
If we do go back to Ironbridge then this is where we will stay.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthLegaleagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Whilst I appreciate that a lot of the previous reviews centre around weddings or multiple night stays; I stayed one night prior to a business meeting nearby.
On arrival the receptionist realised that I had made a mistake with my booking and I had arrived a day early; no problem, the receptionist was very helpful and a room was located for me and the reservation changed.
The ambiance of the hotel is warm and welcoming and when I left the reception area to locate my room I was surprised at the unusual set up; walking through 'Dale End Mews' just added to the charm and decor.
This Valley Hotel has a great evening meal in the Chez Maw restaurant, (please see separate review), and the breakfast is also excellent. There is free Wi Fi which is a must for the business traveller plus bathroom goodies, tea and coffee, (but no biscuits).
This is a hotel that I would love to visit again but maybe with the family to explore the surrounding area, very good value and very well situated.

Room Tip: Book early for the restaurant, 'Chez Maw' as this can get very busy at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Previous guest

Following your recent stay at our hotel I am very pleased to hear that we efficiently dealt with your unexpected arrival and that you enjoyed all aspects of the food and service whilst with us. We are all delighted that you intend to return to us in the future when visiting for business or leisure. We have lots to see around the area, and I m sure you will not be disappointed. We look forward to welcoming you back..
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

For the money we paid we were disappointed with the service here. We came for a wedding and that went perfectly, the wedding organiser was excellent.
However, when we rang to use the 24 hr room service we were told it didn't start until 11am. The second morning we arrived for breakfast at 915 ( breakfast was from 730 to 930) and the service was bad. We were put into a side room, with no cutlery, and no one brought us the promised tea or coffee.
The double room had two single divan sprung mattresses pushed together, do we couldn't cuddle up and it was hard to find a position where a spring wasn't digging in your back.
On top of that we had an adjoining bedroom separated by a thin wooden door which meant we could hear the guy in the next room going to the toilet as if he was doing it next to our bed, and all his conversations late at night and early morning, forcing us to whisper in order not to be overheard.
Lovely place and location, ruined.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FordosFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear previous guest

Whilst we are delighted to learn of your enjoyment of the hotel and the wedding that you attended here, we are sorry hear of your disappointment with some aspects of your stay. We take all customer feedback very seriously and all of your comments have been noted for further investigation. We apologize for any inconveniences that to you incurred. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist you in any way. We hope to welcome you back soon. With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just spent a weekend at this great hotel, situated in lovely grounds. Our room was very comfortable indeed. The staff are exceptional, all very proffessional but extremely friendly & helpful. Nothing was a trouble to them.
Breakfast was excellent, as was dinner. More about that in Chez Maw restaurant review.
This hotel is in an ideal situation, with a short walk into the centre of Iron-bridge. An even shorter walk, just minutes away to the Museum of the Gorge, where you can get a shuttle bus to all ten of the museums. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jebbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear previous guest
Following your recent stay with us it is wonderful to learn of your enjoyment of the hotel and Ironbridge. Your kind compliments are appreciated and we thank you also for your review of the Chez Maw Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring you an equally as enjoyable experience.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
2.1 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
4.0 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
6.0 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Property: Best Western Valley Hotel
Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have direct dial telephone with wireless high speed internet access, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing