We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have just attended my Daughters wedding at this Hotel and have to say it was fantastic in every way! The staff were very polite and helpful from the room attendants, Restaurant and Bar staff and Reception. Sally the wedding co-ordinator and her team were so efficient everything went to plan. The Breakfast the next day had plenty of choice and was cooked lovely. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definately return for a weekend break soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear previous guest
We are delighted to learn of your enjoyment and satisfaction of the hotel whilst at your Daughters recent wedding. Your compliments are greatly appreciated by myself, Sally and the entire team. Thank you for recommending us, we also hope to welcome you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can provide you with any assistance.
Once again we are really pleased to hear that this special occasion was such a success.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    291
    71
    29
    13
See reviews for
114
464
16
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just spent two nights in the Best Western Valley Hotel and it was a real pleasure. The hotel was once owned by the famous Maw family who produced beautiful tiles and they are still present in this hotel. The hotel is in a wonderful part of the country and had lovely country views from our bedroom window. It was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The restaurant was one of the best and we had a full choice of breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 18 has an original fireplace, a four poster bed, a full sized dressing table and is a lovely sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macmoore007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for three nights, the setting was super and the hotel was busy beyond belief. The rooms are quiet small and the shower was one of those electric showers with a low water pressure which I do not like, however everything else was perfect. The breakfast was a great meal with lots of choice and very friendly staff.
In general the hotel is well located and very bust, that also goes for the restaurant which is booked out every evening so if you wish to eat there make your reservation early, we ate in the bar one evening and I have to say the food is also very good.

Room Tip: Book a room with a garden view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonBiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was here during a time that large parts of the country were getting a months worth of rain in a day. This cooled the whole country down by several degrees and I should not be surprised that my room was cold. The central heating was off but there was a small mobile heater in the room. After shutting the door and putting my bags down the next thing I did was turn the heater on. Point being I had booked a room weeks in advance, it was an obviously cold day and the heater was in the room so why was it not warming the room before I arrived? It was so cold I got into the bath and stayed there for more than an hour just to get warm!
Due to the rain I ate at the hotel. Food was good but a little over priced.
The building is actualy a group of main and old outbuildings artfully joined into one. Very well thought out. But made with little soundproofing Over all a good place to stay but get the heating on!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glug43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Previous

Following your recent stay at our property, we are sorry to hear that you experienced some problems with the heating, we have noted you comments for review. I am pleased you enjoyed your meal in the Restaurant and hope your trip overall to Ironbridge was enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back, so please do not hesitate to contact us when we can be of assistance to you.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Fabulous setting. Staff very friendly and helpful. The room I stayed in did need redecorating not as pictures on website I was disappointed, I booked 3 rooms 2 for single occupancy and 1 for double occupancy. The room given to the double occupancy was the smallest of the three rooms so not much thought given to allocation of the rooms. Cleanliness was good. The restaurant is the reason I booked this hotel as I ate there last year food excellent, but I must admit I wouldn't stay at hotel again, but I do like high standards so more then acceptable if you have average standards.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear previous guest,

We are sorry to learn that we did not meet with your expectations during your recent stay with us. We have taken note of your comments for review, particularly regarding the allocation of bedrooms which we will investigate further. The location of the hotel is fantastic and we are delighted that you enjoyed the restaurant and service. We do hope that you will consider staying at the hotel again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can provide you with any assistance.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witbank
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Date of stay: 05-06 September 2012. We had a really nice two night stay at this historical hotel. The service was excellent and the location is really great for visiting all the historical sites / attractions in the area. Although the room was fairly small, it was comfortable, clean and, being at the back of the building, also very quiet - which we appreciated. Plenty of on site parking. Breakfast was wonderful and the staff very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear previous guest,
Following your recent stay at our property we are delighted to learn of your enjoyment with all aspects of your trip and the hotel. I am sure you still have lots to see in the area, and so we very much hope to welcome you back soon. If we can provide you with any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This Best Western has a great evening meal and the breakfast is good also. Free Wi Fi, bathroom goodies, tea and coffee. The house was once the home of the Maws Family and features walls of art deco tiles. However, Pot luck with the rooms. Mine was like a cupboard, great for someone with mild claustraphobia and the mattress was very poor. Complaints fell on deaf ears and no other room was offered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear previous guest,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at our property. I am pleased to learn of your enjoyment of the in room products, free WIFI and the food in our award winning Restaurant. Please accept our apologies that the bedroom size and mattress was not to your comfort. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon. If we can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
2.1 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
4.0 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
13.7 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Property: Best Western Valley Hotel
Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have complimentary WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The 2 AA Rosette awarded Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing