We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool and stylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pondicherry

Pondicherry
Ranked #9 of 29 Restaurants in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
West Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cool and stylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This really is a great find, recommended by a friend it did not dissapoint. The whole ambiance is just right and the food is of an excellent quality both portion size and price.
The staff were extreamly polite and attentive without being overbearing.
The building itself is an old police museum and its good to see that there are references to the buildings past use.
Highly recommend to anyone who loves their Indian food just right! Staff were happy to suggest alternatives to some more popular meal requests that wern't immediately obvious i.e. no balti listed specifically but the meal recommended was exactly like a great balti should be, just ask!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy1976WestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    88
    37
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday meal out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a friends birthday. My first visit here and I have to say I'm really pleasantly surprised by the venue. Modern interior using the buildings original features.
The food was well presented and really tasty, though starters seemed too small for the plate. Although decent for a starter, size of plate made it look much smaller.
Service was excellent and staff were really attentive. Even giving the birthday girl a complimentary bottle of wine and box of Milk Tray. So thoughtful.
Will definitely return here to eat again.

Helpful?
Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“excellent food with a delightful difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

While staying in Ironbridge for a few days we went out for an Asian meal,and following local recommendation tried the Pondicherry.The experience was excellent,in a comfortable and well laid out restaurant.The menu range was very comprehensive,and the meal we had was subtly different from the normal style of Asian food,in an undeniably enjoyable way.It would be difficult to find anything that was less than excellent & we will definitely return there on our next visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CyclopsMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“6th Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time at the Pondicherry and i was a little worried it may not live up to my previous visit.
Of course i need not of worried as the food was beautiful, the service was great and the settings were fantastic for our 6th anniversary. My fiance was very impressed as it was his first time.
We even managed to have a cheeky look in the old cells which are soon to be opened as private dining rooms.
We are looking forward to returning soon.

Helpful?
Thank klew2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Dinner for a Group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Attending a conference in Telford it occurred to me to organise a dinner for twenty people who were attending. THe restaurant was recommended; and although I had a little difficulty in getting in touch with them, everything went swimmingly.

THey are used to organising meals for groups (they had 120 bailiffs in the night before we came!) and have a sensible system of offering a tasting menu so that there are no problems of ordering, and the range of dishes is very good. Everyone enjoyed themselves, and the service was very friendly but unobtrusive, and good.

I would not hesitate to return, and indeed should like to do so, on my own, in order to see more of the building and, of course, to try the breadth of the menu..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pondicherry also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing