We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The finest food I have ever eaten”
Review of Restaurant Severn

Restaurant Severn
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $37
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our desire is to bring to our customers the best produce, sourced locally where possible in an interesting way using modern techniques. Our food is a mixture of modernised British classics and our interpretation of some wonderful European dishes. We've brought a range of wines from Europe and the wider world to give our diners a truly memorable experience. Whether a special occasion or "just because" we hope you enjoy your experience with us and look forward to serving you.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were very lucky to get a last minute cancellation. It was my wife's birthday and we could not have asked for better. It's a lovely little place with comfy chairs you can spend the whole evening in. The food is the most amazing I have ever eaten, and the staff and owners are very friendly and attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank darrenlemaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hammer49shropshire, Owner at Restaurant Severn, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear DarrenleMaire Thank you for your stunning review and superb compliments,I do remember your booking as you have such a distinctive name & when we got the last minute cancellation I joked had you been to church that week & your reply was no but your mum had!! ,anyway I'm glad we managed to fit you in & you enjoyed yourselves, I don't know if you are local but hope you manage to revisit us again.Best wishes Eric & Beb chef patrons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 371 of 563 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited restaurant severn recently as an early birthday meal for my partner. The restaurant itself is small but lovely, the staff friendly and food very good. Would recommend it highly. Thanks for the sparkling candle in my partners pud too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bridgnorthgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hammer49shropshire, Owner at Restaurant Severn, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear bridgnorthgirl thank you for your very nice review & compliments, as you live close by in Bridgenorth perhaps you might re visit us for your next special occasion. Thanks again Eric & Beb chef patrons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Without doubt the best food we had during our long weekend away, and at a really fair price. All the food was beatifully cooked, with well balanced flavours and good presentation. If it wasn't so far from home we'd definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tango555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hammer49shropshire, Owner at Restaurant Severn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Tango555 Thank you for your super review and very nice compliments re food and service at Restaurant Severn we hope you also enjoyed your stay in Ironbridge and hope you come back and revisit us again soon. Eric & Beb chef patrons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

been numerous times and not had a bad word to say about this place. excellent service, fair price & top food!

all you can ask for from a restaurant is quality in every department & this place has it in abundance! you wont be disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank onlyinamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hammer49shropshire, Owner at Restaurant Severn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear OnlyinAmerica Thank you very much for your very nice review and compliments, Reading your other reviews I was pleased to read that the Golden ball Ironbridge has reopened, it used to have a good local reputation, I often recommended them as an alternative to ourselves when we could not accommodate a booking so it is good that they have reopened and seem to be doing a good job. Thanks again & hope you revisit us again soon. Eric & Beb chef patrons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Been numerous times and still the best restaurant around.
We go to lots of fine dining and Eric and Beb produce food as good as Michelin star places any day and lots cheaper. See you soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thecaterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hammer49shropshire, Owner at Restaurant Severn, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Caterer Thank you so much for another great review and super compliments, we don't actually try to compare our selves to Michelin starred restaurants we feel customers end up paying for the staffing costs etc in order to maintain the necessary levels to be considered ,our aim is at the Michelin Bib Gourmand level which is awarded to restaurants that offer good food at a reasonable price their current guide price is £28.00 or 42 euros for three courses which I think is unfair as 42 euros is a lot more than £28.00 pounds !,plus it has been that for several years over which time the cost of everything has gone up. That is why in this country most Bib Gourmand restaurants charge extra for bread / olives ,vegetables / potatoes etc in order to pump up the price whilst still having Bib status we don't believe in doing that, as you know we charge a set price with no supplements. Anyway thank you again especially as I know you are in the trade and also travel a fair distance to visit us. hope to see you again soon Eric & Beb. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Severn also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Restaurant Severn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing