We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a pub.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Meadow Inn & Steakhouse
Ranked #5 of 9 Ironbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The staff were very welcoming when we arrived and the room was very spacious and clean. We decided to eat in the restaurant which was excellent and the service was great. The whole place has a great atmosphere and would definitely stay again. Well worth the money!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 268 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

We decided to eat at The Meadow (6 of us) as the other restaurant we wanted to go to was full up. After a quick scan on tripadvisor I wasn't sure what to expect!

We were greeted well, and told we were at table 16, which we had to find ourselves. It would have been nice to be shown where our table was.

The waitress came to take out order, and we were told 3 items from the main menu weren't available. Thats fine, it happens. A few of the group ordered starters. I had a particularly interesting crayfish and marie rose/horseradish sauce cocktail. Very unusual, but delicious. All of the starters were very well presented, and of a good portion. The mains then came, very quickly, which was good. My main was Chicken Diane. Butterflied chicken cooked on a grill with diane sauce. With a choice of potatoes (sauted with garlic, dauphinoise or chips), the standard additions were half a corn on the cob, salad and onion rings. The chicken was delicious, the sauce was fine, and plenty of it. The only comment I'd make is that the salad didn't taste too fresh. It doesn't take a minute to revive in some cold water. We'd all finished the meal but 8.50pm, and we were then given a desert menu. Nobody came back to us! A couple of us wanted some sweetness after the meal, and I'd set my heart on waffles with ice cream and chocolate sauce. We also had to ask for the bill, so take heed The Meadow, a little more service will encourage more spending!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShropshireSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night & also ate in the restaurant.
Firstly, the food was excellent, we had ribeye & fillet steaks, which were both good quality & cooked to perfection. When selecting your 'trimmings' go for the sauteed garlic potatoes - they're amazing. The service in the restaurant was excellent.
The room was in their annexe, just down the road & was on the ground floor. It was large, with high ceilings & a very large en-suite. There was an excellent selection of tea & coffee etc available. The room & bathroom were very clean.
The only negatives were the creaking floorboards from the people upstairs (who must've been playing 5-a-side football!) And the television, which at 15 inches (ish) was a bit too small for such a large room.
However, when the price is taken into consideration, the TV size doesn't really matter - we paid £130 total for our room, drinks in the bar (3 pints & a bottle of Shiraz) Steaks & desserts. Oh, & full English breakfast is also included, but we haven't had it yet, so we can't tell you what it was like!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Si_Sheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We first stayed in October, 2011 and having bought a "Passport" to the Ironbridge museums valid for a year, we decided upon a return visit for a weekend in February 2012. Do not be dismayed by any recent negative comments from other users; we found The Meadow Inn to have maintained its standards in all respects. It has comfortable, warm and spacious accommodation which together with an excellent menu for Saturday night, an affordable wine list, and fast, pleasant and attentive service made for an excellent wedding anniversary weekend. We thoroughly recommend the Meadow Inn and shall be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I have been to the meadow several times and have always enjoyed it.
Went in Nov 2011 with 4 friends for our early xmas do. It was rather busy when we arrived-which we didnt mind as we like to mull over the menus!
we opted for the 2 for £22 grill night -which is any grill of the specific menu and a bottle of wine to share. We asked the waitress what type of red wine it would be- which she replied-"its just the one that comes with it", confused at this response my friend asked what it was called, again she replied "we dont sell this wine, it just comes in the caraf as part of the deal". I then asked her if she knew the name on the bottle it comes in and she just said she didnt but its very nice".
to avoid any further confusion we said we would have it anyway- it came to the table labelled "merlot"- funny that!
our meals came and they were all presented perfectly, our steaks cooked to our individual preferences beautifully.
Dessert came out and we were all very happy-empty plates all round.
My friend then asked the waitress (a younger girl this time) which types of port they had on offer to go with her cheese board, and how much is it per shot. She looked rather confused and answered 50- she was referring to the quantity which made us all giggle as Becky meant the price. She said she'd go and ask at the bar and returned with the bottle and the correct price.
overall the food was fantastic, the service was good however the waiting staff werent very clued up on the types of drinks or how to react when not sure.
i will be returning as the food is always excellent and good quality. The meadow do good deals too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbermay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Second Time x 1 night at the Meadow Inn, great food, good clean spacious rooms, staff friendly, reasonable price. 10 minute walk into inronbridge.. look forward to my next visit..

suggest rooms which do not look on to main road especially during summer months

Room Tip: suggest rooms which do not look on to main road especially during summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnydays24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We went to the Meadow Inn because the restaurant we were aiming for was shut. An average looking pub and the barmaid was welcoming and friendly. We were told there would be a 30 minute wait for food which was fine for us. We ordered ordered on starter between us and was asked if we were sure we only wanted one starter. Our main courses eventually arrived but the waitress said that no starter had been ordered and she would check what had happened whilst getting sauces for our meal. She took sometime and returned without sauces and no feedback on the starter!

Food was average but huge portions for what you pay!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Yokohama_Llama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.2 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
957 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
163 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bird in Hand Inn
The Bird in Hand Inn
#2 of 9 in Ironbridge
221 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Hart Ironbridge
The White Hart Ironbridge
#4 of 9 in Ironbridge
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadow Inn & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadow Inn & Steakhouse

Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ironbridge
Price Range: $90 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadow Inn & Steakhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Meadow Inn & Steakhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadow Inn & Steakhouse Hotel Ironbridge
Meadow Inn And Steakhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing