We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't rush back but quite nice”
Review of Platillos Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Platillos Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

The food was quite nice, nothing especially outstanding though. Make sure you order enough food as we actually went to McDonald's after the meal as we were still hungry!

I can't particularly complain about anything as everything was ok, but just ok. I would consider returning but there are a lot nicer places in sheff!

Thank lorna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platillos_Sheffield, Manager at Platillos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. As a tapas restaurant our dishes are served as small dishes so that you can select a few dishes to share, and also add to your order should you wish. I hope you do choose to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 128 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

if I am honest I wouldn't have chosen this restaurant as I thought it would be quite pricy and I would be disappointed? However, I walked out having a really good meal with excellent food.
The restaurant is upstairs with a bar downstairs. It was Thursday evening and the bar was very quiet. the location is in the centre of sheffield and quite an exclusive section with nice bars and restaurants around it, so quite appealing and looks a popular area to visit. we had a drink downstairs before moving upstairs.
we were a group of six work colleagues, the menu was significant but always difficult to select with small dishes. the meal for two looked good so we went for that twice, some starters and a couple of main courses. the food was prepared was excellent and there was plenty of it. in fact everyone seemed to enjoy having a bit of everything. All in all very good, although I do feel the waiting staff could bea. Little bit more friendly .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spireite7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platillos_Sheffield, Manager at Platillos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for your review, and nice that we exceeded your expectations. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We visited the restaurant at approx. 5.30pm on a Friday night and it was gearing up for office Christmas parties, etc. They still managed to find us a table in the great atmosphere near to the kitchens which you could watch all the activity. We had a large selection of Tapas and two glasses of their house red wine. All was superb and everything hit the spot! The waiter was very helpful, kind and professional. We really enjoyed our meal and we would recommend it to any one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 474rooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platillos_Sheffield, Manager at Platillos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thanks for your lovely review, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Came here with a living social voucher. Looking forward to nice tapas, menu looked good, put order in for a total of six tapas and a portion of pan Catalan.

Food arrived and seemed quite decent and the service seemed fine until my girfriend came across something in her portion of Mushrooms. On closer inspection it turned out to be a black beetle, or something equally horrific. Disgusting.
We didn't eat another mouthful of anything. Took about 30 mins before I actually met with the manager, after I had approached him. Almost like they didn't care to be honest. Yes we didn't pay a penny and we are getting a refund on the voucher but the attitude shown was awful. With something like this happening your expect a much more apologetic approach to customer service. Oh well, we enjoyed our mcdonalds afterwards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Been here tonight for the second time this year with a living social voucher which is amazing value. Food great and service attentive. Will defo go again.

Thank Punnywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platillos_Sheffield, Manager at Platillos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Many thanks for taking time to leave such nice feedback. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platillos Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing