We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, good drinks, awful food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Platillos Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Platillos Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Lovely setting, good drinks, awful food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Had to wait to be seated even though plenty of empty tables and we had pre booked. Completely ignored by staff. Very slow to produce drinks and food. We had the set tapas menu which has was bland and tasteless. A very miserable waitress. Will not be going again

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clanbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Platillos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit. We always try to ensure that our food & service leaves you with a positive experience, clearly this was not the case on this occasion. If you wish to contact me on sheffield@platillos.co.uk I will happily look into this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    44
    28
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atherton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Been eating tapas for a long time now, both in this country and across Spain. The tapas here were well above average for this country and some were quite innovative and modern. Very good fishcakes and very well presented belly pork, also it is quite good value and in an interesting building. We were there early evening and the staff were very pleasnat and the service was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AthertonMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Platillos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for the review, we're glad that you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“nice place, staff, food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Visited here on a Saturday lunchtime having never been before. Staff friendly and informative. Lovely food - big portions!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judeloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Platillos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for the review, and glad that you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again next time your in Sheffield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty tapas, great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Popped in because we fancied a little tapas, the food was delicious and good value for money, tasted great, can definitely reccomend the patatas bra as and the calimari. We had great friendly and fast service by matt, nice place

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank g0thicuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Platillos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for your review, it's always nice when someone gets a personal mention and Matt was pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consistently good - great for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have visited Platillos fairly regularly since it opened and have always found the quality of food and service to be some of the best found in Sheffield. I haven't visited for a while after a bit of a break with pregnancy and a very small baby.

Returned for lunch on Saturday the 13th April for the first time bringing my one year old. Platillos didn't disappoint and I have discovered that it's just as brilliant when visiting as a family as when visiting as a couple. Well equipped with high chairs, the servers were attentive and made sure we had what we needed for the baby with glasses of milk, advice on what tapas would be suitable to share with the baby and extra little plates offered.

On Saturday as well as the full a la carte being offered there is also a special lunch menu with many tapas dishes priced at £3 and a selection of burgers and sandwiches. For the quality of the food this is extremely good value. The chicken wings, falafel, garlic mushrooms, sweet potato chips and the hummus with bread are particularly good. A good selection of 'mocktails' (alcohol free cocktails) is also available alongside an impressive alcoholic drink menu. Me and my husband thoroughly enjoyed our tapas as usual, and our baby also tucked in with gusto, tapas is a very good choice for little hands.

Service is friendly, attentive and helpful without being overbearing. I love this place and will return again and again, can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monkeylalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Platillos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for the review, and the recommendation. I will share your comments with the team, especially those who looked after you on Saturday. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platillos Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing