We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisurely lunch”
Review of Platillos Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Platillos Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Leisurely lunch”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My two guests had eaten here on a number of occasions so I was happy for them to take the lead and order a selection of tapas for the table. The food didn't disappoint, with a good variety of dishes and great olives! The background music created a relaxing atmosphere, suitable for a business meeting, and our waitress was attentive but unobtrusive. I would definitely recommend a visit to Platillos, whatever the occasion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    44
    28
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, atmosphere and staff!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We held a function at The Platillos bar & restaurant in October 2012. There were 35 of us so a lot to cater for. The area reserved for us was perfect - size wise and privacy wise. The food was delicious - Tapas dishes with huge variety. The staff were very friendly - they seemed genuinely concerned with our comfort and enjoyment. The drinks were also great - everything from cocktails to ciders and beers at a decent price, served with a smile.

Hats off to Platillos. Thank you for a wonderful time

Dmitry

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too much trouble”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I went here for the 3rd time to eat, the first time i went when the place had first opened the food was lovely, really enjoyed it so went back a few months later and it wasnt so good. Didnt bother to go back untill recently, thinking "i'll give it another go" Well i wish we hadnt bothered, bad customer service (practically non existant) and food very average. Its a nice place to have cocktails and drinks in a nice location but woulndnt recomend for food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandsDSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal great value”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stopped for some lunch one day midweek.
Really nice staff lovely food, we had the fish mezze and a couple of tapas recommended by the very helpful waiter .
Would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodobsessedItalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Again great drinks terrible food”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

A real let down.
Arrived at 7.30 after pre booking table. After half hour we had to grab a waiter to order a drink (the strawberry sangria was excellent though).After 70 minutes all we had received were olives and some bread. Just as I was about to complain the fish mezze arrived which was OK.
Had the sweet potato pasties which weren't that special.
Ordered the 2 tagines (one chicken one "special")which tasted as though the chef had forgotten the spices. Did say this to the waiter who said that it used to be spicier but they had had to tone it down.
Only 2 servers and a trainee on for a full restuarant.
As I said a real let down.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hagglane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platillos Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing