We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the place for a quick bite before a gig at the city Hall”
Review of La Gondola

La Gondola
Ranked #57 of 1,466 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
East Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Just the place for a quick bite before a gig at the city Hall”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are going to a concert or show at Sheffield City hall and you want somewhere cheerful to eat with good service and tasty, unpretentious food at a reasoanable price, then bypass the Asks and Franky and Benny-type places and head for La Gondola.
A bit cheek by jowel in terms of table space but always good service and great value house wines. Dont leave it too late, though. The place gets deservedly busy from about ninety minutes before show time and tables are not always available. My suggestion would be to eat here and then grab a quick snifter at the Bar One or some other suitable hostelry near the city hall rather than leaving too late to enjoy the splendid service and comapny at La Gondola.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EastYorkshireFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    55
    19
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chafford Hundred
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent enough without being anything special”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I were in Sheffield for a gig and had to find somewhere easy and quick to eat...This place did exactly what it said on the tin...Simple food, quick service and all in all, a decent enough experience without being anything special...Staff were OK, food was OK, value for money was OK...Nothing else to say really except the glasses that they serve the drinks in probably need upgrading!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 146Chris146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“La Gondola great for families and children!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went on a Sunday night at 5:30 23rd Dec so although near Christmas was quite quiet due to time. The waiter was very accommodating with our children and although no children's menu specified - half size of all dishes were available. Always good to see proper food for kids - not burgers or chicken nuggets!!!! Our drinks were served efficiently as we're all of our dishes which were delicious. No corkage was charged for our own champagne we brought (ruby anniversary!) Every plate was clean. We shared our starters with our children which were very generously sized and our desserts as we were quite full! Not a single complaint - very good value for money as everything made fresh. Only slight quibbles would be that they didn't have us in diary (although I booked and changed the numbers a few weeks before) so if it was at a busier time this may have been a prob. Also the decor is not as nostalgic as it used to be although the candles and music were just right. The chairs were a little canteenish? Will defo go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmf1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went there on a Saturday evening. There was 7 of us, a works night out. We had great service and lots of fun. The food was wonderful. Garlic mushroom starter was amazing. Friends really enjoyed the garlic breads. Not too long a wait between courses. Mains was hot and beautifully cooked. Waiter attentive and never kept us waiting for drinks. Desserts were really good size. All in all a great time. Very good prices for the size of meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wizzmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic little Italian with great service”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Came in on Sunday 11th and the place was a little busy - about 7/8 tables. Was seated straight away by a busy man in glasses. Nothing was too much trouble for this young man. We had to be out quick for a train and he made sure, despite being the only one there, we were served delicious food quickly. Me and my mother have small appetites so we shared a meal. It was great tasting and the vegetables were crisp and hot. The other 2 meals I was told were great too! Simply wonderful! Would definitely visit again when we are in Sheffield. And 10/10 for the service. Truly professional with a great grasp of how waiting tables should be done!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas-samuel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gondola also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to La Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing