We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Sheffield Centre(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
$69
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$64
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Leopold Hotel(Sheffield)
$112
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
$54
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halifax Hall(Sheffield)
$79
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,442)
Filter reviews
1,442 results
Traveler rating
349
509
337
156
91
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
509
337
156
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely groundssmall lakeleisure facilitiescity centresauna and steam roomgroupon deala bit tiredbar foodlovely hoteltwo double bedsecclesall roadsuperior roompeak districtroom was largevery pleasant staybooked this hotelbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
958 - 963 of 1,442 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very sceptical after booking through Groupon and then reviewing on trip advisor, however this was an excellent hotel and the all inclusive one night stay which we had booked, we absolutely loved.

from time of arrival the staff were friendly and professional and this was no more evident when we dined in the restaurant where we had an amazing 2 course evening meal.

the room (504) situated in the original Kenwood Hall was periodic, warm and such a relaxing environment we didn't want to even leave for dinner.

the cleanliness was 1st class throughout the hotel and believe me when I have an OCD (I mean house proud) partner, the room was scrutinised and given plenty of compliments.

Breakfast was as of any other hotel, buffet style with nothing to want.

we were given within the deal a pass to the leisure facility but because we had relaxed so much the thought of getting any exercise wasn't on our gender.

Overall we are shocked that the hotel is rated at 56%, we would happily and without reservation put it up in the 90%.

Thank you and we will return

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thought your break value for money
I am pleased you were able to relax and enjoy the ambiance of the hotel, using all of the facilities and your positive comments regarding the team and that you would recommend and return in the future

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We booked the hotel before checking the reviews and to be quite honest arrived with a bit of trepidation.

Easy parking, welcoming receptionist and a huge bedroom met our arrival at what we felt was a bargain price. TV was not huge but we only spent an hour or so watching it and we did appear to have a choice of about 8-10 channels.

Did we experience a cold room, tatty carpets, run down bathrooms - no we did not. Perhaps we were just lucky but the hotel was in good condition. OK if you look really hard you might see some veneer coming away on a skirting board or a slight fray in the most used part of the carpet in the restaurant. But are other peoples home so perfect that they could withstand such scrutiny - I know mine couldn't.

We dined in their restaurant which was OK, typical hotel food I suppose. I did see some dishes being sent back but ours was fine. Not gourmet but enjoyable and at the price what more can you expect.

They do need to update their wifi, having to sign in every 30 minutes is a real pain so I opted for the £8 24 hour deal - something you do not expect to pay for these days.

Breakfast was not as good as the evening meal and service was very slow, so if on business either order breakfast in your room or go down 15 minutes earlier than normal.

Room Tip: Do not park your car under the trees - I am sure they have flying elephants in Sheffield the state our car was in.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at the hotel
As mentioned it is always better to experience things for yourself as people have differing opinions on value for money. We are located in a leafy area just minutes away from the busy city centre with amply free car parking for all

I note your comments regarding the WI-FI as this is something we are addressing at present

Thank you for your comments regarding slow breakfast service and I have passed on to the restaurant manager in order for him to address

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nice property and very close to the city. From the web site I expected to be out in the country. It's a mile from city center. Clean property and got free breakfast and free gym and wi fi. Wifi kicks you off every 30 minutes and that's a pain never seen that before.
Fitness cente is pretty tired. The machines all need upgraded and the poor wifi doesn't work up there. That's my only complaint. Would stay here again. People were very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your feedback,
As mentioned in your comments it is hard to believe we are within 5 minutes of the busy city centre, set within 11 acres of grounds overlooking the lake we have ample car pakring to accommodate all.
We are currently reviewing the WI-FI at the hotel so hopefully this will improve the overall access

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has received some mixed reviews so i thought i would add my opinion. Me and 4 friends stayed here 6th - 7th january and we enjoyed our stay here. Before arriving we googled the location and it looked really close to the centre which we knew would be close to bars and restaurants however were a little skeptical about noise however on arriving the hotel was in a lovely quiet area with minimal noise at any time of day, the gardens were luxurious and beautiful with a lovely lake. We had a mix of rooms, the standard one which for the price was perfect, the superior room was spacious and v.clean and finally we had the suite which wasnt as big as we would have liked but had room for the 5 of us to sit comfortably in the lounge, unfortunately the hotel restaurant wasnt open on the monday 6th evening so we ventured in a taxi kindly ordered by reception to take us to meadowhall shopping centre and upon returning to the hotel had asked a member of staff to take some plates and cutlery upto thw suite as we had a cake, the hotel staff were friendly and very accomodating to every need. The only downside is that you have to get taxis to get around which if there is a group of you but otherwise could end up being costly. The hotel was very clean from what we saw and although i wouldnt say it is a 4* its facilities were good they have a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna and were clean and was open until 9.30pm! Throughout the night there were security on reception and around the hotel so i felt as though we were safe and our property was secure. The breakfast the next day was lovely, as there were lots on offer, a hot breakfast and continental! :-) overall i was pleasantly surprised by the Kenwood Hall hotel, i think it definately pays to ignore some reviews and go with your gut instinct and im glad we did, we had a great time at this brilliantly located hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank EmmaW442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you were able to enjoy your stay with us in the hotel and enjoy all of the facilities. As we are set within 11 acres of grounds just 5 minutes away from the busy city centre the hotel is quiet

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend (and on one occasion his 7yr old daughter) have stayed here on several occasions and have never been disappointed with the place.

Very good value for money to pre-book.
The hotel is sitatuated in a leafy subburb of Sheffield and was quite a task to find the 1st time!

Check in can be a bit slow as there is only usually 1 member of staff on reception.
It is a lovely grand entrance and presented well for the 1st opinion of the hotel.

The double rooms have all the facilities you need and if you get lucky you have a lovely view of the lake or at least the leafy surroundings usually featuring squirrels!
Full bathrooms, good selection of tea & coffee and plenty of wardrobe space.

The stay with the child was in a double room which accomodated a child (as per the hotels advice) and this room was huge. The 'child' bed was a pull out/sofa bed yet very comfy and had been laid out for our arrival. This was situated in an area which was a little 'seperated' from the main bedroom- i don't mean in a way that you couldn't see the child as it's basically at the bottom of the main bed but does give a slight bit of privacy so was nice.
This was the first time also we'd gone for the breakfast option.

Having had bar food there on a stay previously i wasn't blow away by the selection or quality then but the breakfast is a different matter.

There is masses of selection, self serve buffet of cereals/fruit/cooked items and several 'non standard' items which could be cooked to order (scrambled eggs/porridge etc).
The food quality was very good and kept warm well.
The dining area was well maintained by the staff also.

All in all its always a pleasant stay and even though it belongs to a group of Hotels it does have charm that the 'chain hitels' don't so for a few £'ss (and not usually more than that!) its worht a look to stay there.

There is plenty of parking but it does get full and in the winter can be pretty treacherous with the leaves and wet ground.The car park is also quite dark if you have to park right at the back!
The boyfriend and his daughter used the pool & facilities and said they were good but I haven't had the oppertunity!

The rest of Sheffield is very accessible (by car)- the Peace Gardens are close by and so are plenty of places to eat if you don't fancy the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you thought your stay with us was value for money and that you were able to enjoy the facilities within the hotel

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews