We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise in the middle of the city...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“paradise in the middle of the city...”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I am just coming back from a night at this hotel with my partner and were extremely worried because of all the revues we had previously read about the place. However, we had a fantastic time during our short stay. Our room was beautiful and had a nice corner view on the pond, bathroom was decent and for something so close to the city centre, we couldn't believe how beautiful the setting was. We went out walking to the centre and brought back some food with us as we did think that some of items on the menu were over priced.
We had a nice walk around the pond and thoroughly enjoyed the scenery.
We decided that we'd definitely come back!

Room Tip: I would advice not to have a room by the stairs on one hand as we did hear the door closing and open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us

Paradise in the city is an apt description of the hotel. Set in 12 acres of grounds within 5 minutes of the busy city centre it is an ideal location for you to stay within Sheffield and enjoy the tranquil surroundings whilst have the flexibility to be within the city

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    426
    263
    133
    69
See reviews for
212
512
51
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We got a good price for bed and breakfast. The room was comfortable and spacious. The breakfast wasn't the healthiest I've seen, but I managed the fruit salad and a slice of toast which was adequate and the bacon, sausages etc were to others' tastes. I couldn't eat the scrambled eggs as I'm lactose intolerant and they'd added milk, but on the plus side, they did have soya milk. A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay

All of our breakfast are served buffet style which allows guest to choose from the healthy options, fruit, cereal, toast to a hearty full English.
If brought to our attention we make every effort to cater for specific dietary requirements and I am pleased that we were able to offer you Soya Milk on your request

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

. Booked with groupon for two course meal and champagne in our room. Wasn't disappointed food great and had a wonderful stay. Had a ground floor room which was ideal. Lovely setting sat drinking champagne on the terrace looking at the beautiful gardens. Would definitely go again and highly recommend

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Disappointed problems with room, meal and loud music until gone 1 in morning. Rude bar and restaurant staff and communal toilet had no soap or toilet roll.
Overly busy and staff could not cope with demand our anniversary weekend has been totally ruined :-(

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma-2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments although a little surprised with your feedback especially regarding the team and I have passed back to the relevant managers of those areas.

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Berchtesgaden, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had our wedding venue here. Certain staff in tempus restaurant refused to serve our guests with drinks and was very rude about it the kranky lookalike. Mother in laws room was noisy as the air conditioning was broken. Brother in laws room was dirty. Our room though was very nice. Food was very good and grounds were perfect

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnsleyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments although a little surprised. I have passed on your feedback to the restaurant manager regarding the drinks sales and the housekeeper regarding the room, although none were brought to our attention at the time

Due to the extreme weather conditions the rooms do get hot however we have fans available upon on request. Unfortunately as we are not a modern and purpose built hotel we do not have air conditioning

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your say with us

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was a little worried before a group of us stayed at the hotel for my son's graduation, as some of the reviews are pretty dodgy.

Infact we were very comfortable and on the whole, the experience was very good. The rooms are tired, but not unpleasant, and the bathrooms were acceptable. The majority of the staff were extremely helpful.

We found our bar snack in the evening to be very good, and were quite happy with breakfast. Bar prices are very high - £4.80 for a pint of coke!

If investment was made in this hotel, it would be the best in Sheffield, as the grounds are so pleasant, and the location is excellent. But for £70 a night, you can't expect 5* quality, and what we received was fair value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thought us value for money

Whilst the hotel is not modern and purpose built and a little tired in places we are set in 11 acres of grounds which gives you ample time to set and relax just 5 minutes drive from the busy city centre of Sheffield

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place seems to be living on its laurels. On the positive side the grounds are grand and it is well situated for Sheffield centre. On the bad side our room was big but needs an upgrade - worn carpet, no air con and nigedly little things such as no toilet paper. When I stay in a 4**** hotel I expect the breakfast menu to have on it things such as kippers or kedgeree. Not here. The buffet breakfast involved what you would expect to find in a grim motorway cafe. By way of example, the sausages are those grim things that you remember from school dinners - not some delightful meaty fare bought from a good local supplier. No stars at all for the breakfast then and when we checked out we headed for breakfast elsewhere. The staff were friendly enough but it takes a bit more to make a hotel 4 Star

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TC_Tucker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments although a little surprised with your feedback regarding Breakfast. As with most hotels we offer a buffet style breakfast with a variety of choices from fruit, yoghurt, cereals, pastries to a full English

Unfortunately the hotel is not modern and purpose built and therefore does not have air conditioning although it is set in 11 acres of grounds overlooking the lake, just 5 minutes from the busy city centre of Sheffield

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.9 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
1.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Address: Kenwood Road, Sheffield S7 1NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hall Sheffield
Hotel Kenwood Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing