We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Setting, Large Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Stirling, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Setting, Large Rooms”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here for a night early in July. Beautiful grounds in one of the nicer areas of Sheffield. The exterior of the hotel and for the most part the interior were very well taken care of, although the bathroom could have used a refresh. Lots of parking. All in all, would definitely recommend this hotel especially if you dont want to be right in the town center. It's a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the "Eccy Road" (Ecclestone Road) area where there are quite a lot of restaurants to be found. We ate at Nonnas which I will review later. Free wifi for those that want it but you have to ask for instructions at the front desk.

Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgroothius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would return.
We are situated in a residential area within Sheffield, 5 minutes drive from the city centre with 11 acres of gardens and ample free car parking

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    421
    260
    127
    68
See reviews for
209
501
49
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as my wife had a meeting in Sheffield the following day. The hotel is lovely, set in beautiful grounds in the heart of Sheffield! The main Hall is used for functions and conferences whilst the rest of the hotel is a well designed, modern extension. The grounds are superb, with manicured lawns running down to a large pond and many different lawned terraces and woods to walk through. The bar and restaurant lead out onto a terrace overlooking the pond and is a great place to relax, with a cool drink, on a summers evening. The restaurant has a small but reasonable menu and the bar menu mirrors the room service menu which again, is more than adequate. The bar area and reception are very well decorated and give a relaxed feeling. Free wifi is available throughout the hotel, although you have to log back in every 30 minutes which can be a bit of a pain! The double room we had was very spacious and well equipped and the decor was pleasant and tasteful, if a little dated. You do get a higher level of noise than normal from the corridor and rooms next door so I suggest you take earplugs, as I do!. The bathroom was well equipped but again, a little dated. The shower was fine in the evening but the following morning the flow of hot water was very limited. There is a disabled rail in the bath, set at an unusually high level, I assume to assist with showering. However, it does protrude from the wall quite a way and makes showering very difficult. The food in the bar area was very good and the staff everywhere were polite and attentive. However, we did have to wait over 30 minutes for our meal which suddenly appeared as soon as we asked when it was arriving. The leisure area is very good with a well equipped gym and separate weights room. The pool, which is a little small, also has a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room as well. The leisure centre is free, as are the lockers and the car park. Overall, a very nice hotel in an excellent location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your extensive review of the hotel and I am pleased that you were able to take full advantage of all of our facilities including the leisure club and gardens

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel claims to be 4 Star, sorry but not in my book.
The Plus Points the Staff are very Good No complaints
The Rooms are very tired.
It’s very close to the centre of Sheffield.

Food
My wife and I ate in the Restraunt on one night (this was part of the package we booked) a three course meal, we both had soup to start this was good.
The Main courses were all cheap cuts of meat, Belly Pork, Hake, Sausage Braised Beef.
I opted for the Sausage and Mash (very cheap sausages I can say that because I have worked in that industry for 20 years) my wife had the beef, not very impressive streaks of fat and a Sauce that was supposed to be pepper.
The third and Final Course I opted for Cheese and Biscuits’ (£6-50) Two very small pieces of Stilton that was tasteless and a piece of Brie. My wife went for a Tart that looked good but the taste did not match, and why was it served with Ice cream and a cold Custard?
I’m sorry but if I was asked for the £68-00 for this I would have been very disappointed.
Before the meal we had drinks I asked for a Pint of perronni and was astounded to be asked for £5-10p for this a Half pint of Lemonade for my wife came in at £3-10p.

Breakfast
This was a Buffett, I cannot fault the staff they were very helpful. The Food was good but not what you would expect from a 4 Star.

The Hotel itself sits in its own grounds, a very large Pond with Ducks etc. make it very pleasant, and the spacious grounds at the back of the hotel are ideal for a short walk.

Overall the hotel is in need of an update, rooms look tired, and for the cost of an evening meal it seriously wants to look at what it has on its menus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockford51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments especially with regards to the team and I apologise that you were not happy with the menu choices available to you in the evening. As with most hotels we do offer a buffet style service at breakfast as this allows guests to wander to the restaurant at leisure and take as little or as much as you wish from cereal, fruit and healthy options to the full English.
.
As you mentioned the hotel is an ideal setting just minutes awake from the city centre set in its own grounds which gives you plenty of time to relax or take a short walk

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night as a Groupon deal for use of spa, 2 course dinner, champagne and full english breakfast. We booked for a Monday night so the hotel was fairly quiet. The reception staff were all very friendly and welcoming and first impressions excellent, the lobby is very well presented and the location is excellent, close to Sheffield city centre but tucked away amongst the trees overlooking a lake. The grounds are nice and well kept and very pleasant to walk round with a small nature trail area. Our room was pleasant enough, clean with nice bedding and basic furniture but the bathroom as a real let down. Its only saving grace was the excellent shower which made up for the tired old fashioned tiling. The other comment I would have about the room is that there were no nets or blinds at the window so unless you wanted to be viewed by anyone in the restaurant/bar or walking round the grounds you had to close the curtains and put the light on, bit annoying when you are in your room at any point during the day. The spa pool area has also seen better days and I felt it could do with a good clean in the steam room, particularly the door. The ceiling was a mess in places and the whole thing just felt tired - a great shame as its location is lovely overlooking the grounds with large glass windows. The shabby feel is not helped by the cloudy glass in places. Our other disappointment was dinner. When on a Groupon deal you are restricted in your choices but the choices we were given all sounded very nice. However, the meals were bland and all the food was covered with a large mound of rocket, no dressing whatsoever. Breakfast was more of the same with cheap tasteless sausages and not very fresh pastries and bread. Overall it was nice to get away but we would not return and pay full price as it is not worth the £181 quoted on the voucher for the full price for our deal. A real shame as Kenwood Hall could be so much more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed333H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I apologise that you were not happy with the choice of food available on the inclusive menu and I have passed on your feedback to the head chef.

I also have a new leisure supervisor at the hotel and although the facility may be a little tired in areas it should not in any way not meet an exceptable standard of clealiness

I am pleased that you felt the staff were both friendly and welcoming and enjoyed the grounds and location of the hotel and were able to take advantage of the nature walk

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Kenwood for 4 nights while on a course and the hotel was lovely - the old house, gardens and dining room are lovely settings. Our first impression was really good. Our twin bedroom was clean and a pleasant size, with the usual tea, coffee, TV etc. Quite standard, and the cleanliness was maintained for the duration of our stay. We had 2 nights where our sleep was disturbed - on the first night by the fire alarm (completely unavoidable and not the hotel's fault - the staff were great under pressure), and the 2nd night by some rather loud guests.

Breakfast was lovely, with lots of choice. We had dinner in the hotel on one night - it was really yummy but rather expensive. I would go back again though!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorrinaL1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and would come back to the hotel to stay

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

stayed at the kenwood recently for a wedding and all was good.large room,friendly staff,nice location great breakfast.only niggle a couple of minor maintenence repairs in room were not of a good standard.but all in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay and that your thought the team friendly overall. Glad that you enjoyed your breakfast

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Arrived on a Friday for a 2 night stay with my parents to celebrate my fathers 80th birthday.we used a groupon voucher, to a lovey looking hotel, we were greeted by very friendly staff. We were then told that there was a prom night on Friday for a local high school and 2 weddings on Saturday. We had as part of the deal our meal on the Friday night and a bottle of champs in the room. The champs was very nice, we were given a lovely room (well it was on the friday)looking out over the lovely gardens and lake. The breakfast on both mornings was really excellent, plenty of choice. That's were the nice bits stop. The meal on the Friday was terrible, we had a choice of 5 main, 2 of which were specials that there wasn't any left, this was at 8pm. What we did have was tasteless. We were given a different menu from other paying customers. We went to bed that night hungry. The next day in the afternoon the hotel took on a different atmosphere altogether. It became noisy, and crowded. We were getting smoked out in our bedroom because the smokers were smoking right under the window and as there is no air conditioning in the bedrooms we had to have the windows open. I loved lying in bed listening to the foul language from the guests, not!!! We went for a swim in a pool that had dirty broken tiles and is very small.The beds are very soft and you roll into the middle as there is a drip in the mattress. It is a great shame that there are areas that let this hotel down as the gardens are beautiful and the hotel is a lovely building.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I apologise that the hotel did not meet your expectations.
We do advertise that we are a large hotel with large rooms and specialise in the wedding market due to our fantastic grounds and setting and as a result are very busy throghout the summer during the weekends. Whilst we make every effort to encourage guests to be a little quieter especially at night with the recent warm weather noise does travel somewhat and I can only apologise if this disturbed you

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Kenwood Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.9 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
691 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
1.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall

Property: Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall
Address: Kenwood Road, Sheffield S7 1NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hall Sheffield
Hotel Kenwood Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing