We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in unexpected location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in unexpected location”
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Marriott Sheffield. Elsewhere I have mentioned that Marriott can be overpriced for what it is, 5 star bills for 4 star services but not with the Marriott Hotel in Sheffield. Its by no means in the city centre but instead rests peacefully beside a lake in the suburbs. Based on an old suburban house it is really lovely, with immaculate rooms, spotlessly clean throughout. the whole hotel is very roomy and well looked after. This Hotel deserves 5 stars yet only charges 4 star prices. Not to be missed, I would'nt dream of staying anywhere else in Sheffield and definitely look forward to my next stay!

  • Liked — Lovely walks in locality
  • Disliked — Can be a bit difficult to navigate around the hotel
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    425
    262
    133
    69
See reviews for
212
510
51
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sheffield england
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

This hotel seems to have gone down the pan since it was taken over by Principal Hayley from the excellent Marriott group. The Leisure Centre is particularly bad. Maintenance and management are very poor. The pool, sauna, steam room and showers are constantly out of order. There seem to be lots of penny pinching economies e.g. no newspapers, no piano player, understaffing. Not what you'd expect from an hotel of this class.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank saxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Our fourth stay at Kenwood Hall, and the first since it was sold by Marriott to PH. It's in leafy Nether Edge, about 15 minutes from the city centre. Very close to trendy Eccleshall Road and it's many bars and restaurants. The hotel grounds are lovely, the best rooms in the new part of the hotel are 131 - 137, which overlook the small lake in the gardens on ground level. What's changed? Minibars have gone, robes and slippers have gone, carpets are looking a little threadbare and all the Marriott branding has been quickly taped over. It looks like the new owners are trying to save some money while they work out what to do with the hotel. That said, the rooms are clean and spacious, and the staff are very friendly and helpful; as Sheffield folk generally are. The breakfast buffet is extensive and will set you up for the day. We were there for a family wedding in the old part of the hotel (Kenwood Hall) and again the staff and the catering were very good indeed. Overall, it is a competitively priced hotel and we enjoyed our stay. I'll be interested to see what the new owners do to the property in the coming months.

  • Liked — the view from my room
  • Disliked — no minibar, no robes, no slippers
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2008

We have just spent an excellent weekend in Sheffield staying the The Kenwood Hall hotel. The hotel is located in a very nice quiet area of sheffield , when we arrived there were plenty of car parking spaces. The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly and dealt with check in quickly.
Although our room was a few minutes walk from the reception it was not a problem, the room itself was very spacious consisting of an entrance area with a desk and two comfy chairs , a bathroom and finally a large bedroom with a comfy king size bed.
The hotel has leisure facilities , the pool was small but relaxing there was also a steam room a sauna and a gym , towels are provided for guests
Although we choose to eat locally in one of the many restaurants on Eccleshall road we did have breakfast in the hotel,the dining room overlooks the very pretty grounds of the hotel . The quality of the brekfast was very good as was the choice. There were cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, hot breakfast and plenty of breads.
The location of the hotel for us was excellent in that it was far enough away from the bustle of the city but near enough to get to easily.
Walking took 20 minutes to the city centre but maybe not suitable to walk at night into the city a taxi cost £6. Walking to Eccalshall Roads many bars and restaurants took 10 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincs1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering northants
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

We have just come home from a 2 day stay at the Kenwood Hall and we were very impressed! We upgraded to an executive room (a special offer of £76 a night) and had a large comfortable room with 2 queen size beds and a fabulous view of the gardens and lake. Both mornings we opened our balcony door to a view of a frost covered lawn and a hazy sun burning off the mist round the lake. Breakfast choice was plentiful and the evening meal we had was excellent. The first morning was very busy as a large wedding party had stayed overnight but we didn't have to wait long for a table as the waiting staff were very efficient. All the staff we spoke to were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is a wonderful find, in a quiet area but near to the city centre. One thing to note if you expect to arrive after dark, the entrance is not the one on Kenwood Road! (it's down the road to the right of the old stone entrance gate!) Our sat nav got us to the right place and we were lucky enough to find a couple who pointed us in the right direction; they too had driven up and down the road the night before! But it is well worth the find!

  • Liked — quiet with peaceful relaxing surroundings
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank te50ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.9 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
1.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Address: Kenwood Road, Sheffield S7 1NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hall Sheffield
Hotel Kenwood Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing