We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Potential but ......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Oxford
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Potential but ......”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst attending a wedding nearby. The hotel is beautifully situated in lovely grounds. It is close to the city centre and in a residential area, so is quiet without noisy traffic nearby. The rooms are a decent size. Ours had a lovely view towards the lake. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was quite adequate. However the whole place is let down by a number of small details. For example a chest of drawers which couldn't be used as the handle had come off. No toilet roll holder or loo brush. A rusty handrail by the bath. A radiator whose knob was missing, so the temperature could not be adjusted. Also the rooms could do with a lick of paint. Little things, but with some more care about the details it would be so much better.

Whilst the breakfast was good, we ate an evening meal there that was the worst meal we have eaten out for months. It was expensive, portions were small and it was not well cooked. Vegetables were stewed and for £15 my wife had mackerel about the size of a sardine! The sweets all looked as if they had been bought in and were all stodgy heavy sweets. There no "healthy" options or lighter dishes.

Would I return? Probably not.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake, rather than the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurogolferoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    425
    262
    133
    69
See reviews for
212
510
51
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting family in the area. Picked this hotel for its location and free parking.

Booked a bed and breakfast package, breakfast was very good both mornings. All buffet style and was topped up regularly, the elderly waitress was very welcoming and helpful on both days. Much more interested in the customers satisfaction than the younger members of staff in the restaurant.
Had dinner on the second night which was really nice however quite pricey.

The room was very disappointing for the money, the bed itself was really comfy and the linen good. the main issue was the bathroom. There were 2 loo roll holders, one was on the wall, the other was missing the plastic thing to hold the loo roll. The shower sprayed every way except down and there was a horrible plastic shower curtain, very old fashioned. There was a handle in the bath to help you get in and out but it was in the most ridiculous place which meant that when you were stood under the shower head it stuck into one side of you while the shower curtain stuck to the other side of you! I couldn't help but think eew I wonder how many other people this shower curtain has stuck to!
The ceiling in the bathroom was half brown with the paint flaking off and the extractor fan was blocked with dust.
The rooms really need attention as the rest of the decor throughout the hotel was nice.

Would probably stay again but not at the price we paid as we feel it was not worth the money.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MoodyHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We where upgraded to an executive room which was very nice, the staff where also nice,we had a lovely evening meal which was included with the price,the grounds looked lovely but as it was raining only got to see it through the bedroom window. The only complaint we had was the price of the drinks ( vodka £3.80 plus £1.20 tot of lemonade £4.20 for a guinness) We stayed on a monday night, this was the most quietest hotel we have stayed in, no door slamming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The grounds look great, as does the reception area, and the staff were very good, sadly the rooms weren't in the state of repair you'd expect with lots of small defects. Missing drawer handles, broken drawer handles, missing toilet roll holders, rusty fittings, broken lights.. you get the idea.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I went to this Hotel for my birthday and got a good deal through a hotel booking company. I don't know if we would have paid full price for this Hotel but for what we paid we were happy about. It is situated in a lovely leafy surburban area surrounded by grounds and a lake. It is very close to the city of Sheffield but you wouldn't know it once you are in the Hotel. We had an executive suite and we didn't notice any problems with the decor as others have said. It was nicely decorated, very large and we had patio doors which opened out onto the lake which was lovely. The only quibble we would have is that the room had connecting doors and we could at times here the couple next door to us which wasn't ideal. We did mention this to Reception on the way out but the Receptionist didn't seem that interested! We were also disappointed on arrival at Reception as there was only one lady on duty with quite a large queue which was annoying when all you wanted to do was get booked in so I think the Hotel should look at this. There seemed to be a lot of staff wandering around but only one person on Reception. We had a meal in the restaurant as that was included in our price as well as a £10 drinks voucher and full English breakfast. We couldn't fault any of the food and everything was organised well and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely relaxing break.

Room Tip: When booking tell the Hotel you do not want a room with a connecting door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HollyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The staff do their best to make this a good hotel in spite of an evident lack of support from the controlling company.

The room needed some improvement in the upkeep

It is possible to telephone the hotel directly, and avoid the call centre, but it needs ingenuity.

Our booking was confused with someone else's, but the front desk people put it right.

The supplement for the use of a credit card is unacceptable, but luckily the staff didn't insist on it.

The restaurant is good, but a little expensive.

The spa is very nice, but the lockers are in bad condition and there is no centrifuge for drying the costumes. Plastic bags don't do the same job!

To sum up, it's a satisfactory place to stay, but it could easily be improved.

Room Tip: One of us was disabled, and the staff did their best to find us a room near the pool and not too far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Spent last evening at the Hotel first impressions very good. Booked an Executive Room! well I wouldnt have liked to stay in a standard room. The room was really dated the ceiling paper was coming away, the bathroom needed an overhaul.Carpets needed renewing paint work need touching up (small things that make a difference). When I went for breakfast at 6:45 the buffet wasnt fully ready and had finished the little I had before the rest was laid out. In short not a very pleasant experience, which is a shame because it could be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.9 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
1.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Address: Kenwood Road, Sheffield S7 1NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hall Sheffield
Hotel Kenwood Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing