We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cubana

Cubana
Ranked #24 of 1,418 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: Latin, European, Spanish, Cuban, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cubana is both a Tapas restaurant and Cuban bar where live music is prominent throughout the week with DJ's and dancing at weekends. Having re-located to Leopold Square almost 3 years ago after 14 highly successful years on nearby Trippet Lane, Cubana is one of the most authentic and well respected venues in Sheffield. The decor is understated, with a theme of 'faded elegance showcasing some amazing original artwork throughout. The extensive menu combines classic Spanish tapas style dishes with South American flare and flavour. Cubana's very first head chef and many of the original culinary team have been in place since their very first day of opening back in November 2000 and this is a major factor as to why Cubana has such a great reputation for top quality and consistently tasty food. A lively atmosphere is helped by great music and energetic presence of Sheffield's Latin community
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I booked a table for our wedding anniversary on a Thursday night and we had a fantastic time. It was our first visit to this restaurant and we would definitely return. The waiters looked after us really well. The food was lovely and well presented, we found the portion size just right, any bigger and we wouldn't have been able to sample such a variety - we had 7 dishes between the two of us, a desert to share a couple of rounds of drinks and Coffee Cubana afterwards which was gorgeous. We estimated the bill at more than what it actually was so it was good value for money. The band playing were excellent and it had a good atmosphere. We will be trying a Saturday night next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joolz-n-Vinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    232
    61
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
507 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Such a shame!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have visited this restaurant a couple of times and stayed overnight in Sheffield just to eat here as we have always had a fantastic time. This occasion was a bit of a letdown. The table was very cramped and I had to ask the couple next to us to move if I wanted to stand up. The food was as always but the place just lacked the atmosphere that it usually has and sadly I am in no rush to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KTandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Needs a clean up.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have been here twice but I don't think we would go again, I wouldn't call it a couples romantic night out more for students.
The tapas are very small portions and expensive so by the time you have ordered enough for the two of you it becomes even more expensive. Then there's the drinks, they really make their money on these.
Yes the music is too loud and the place looks quite shabby, I'd hate to see it in daylight or when full lights are on. Uncomfortable wooden chairs and a wooden floor it's like sitting in a large shed. Could do with a clean up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice food - bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had some lovely tapas here with everything cooked to perfection. The surroundings are also very nice with low light and music it is a lovely ambience. I did feel that the tapas were a little pricey though as we ordered a few and it definately added up!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amylouswfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Are these reviews real? Overrated!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went here because of the great reviews on TripAdvisor. Wish we'd spent our money elsewhere. The food, at best, was average,quite disappointing and tasteless, I could have rustled it up in my own kitchen with more flavour and wouldn't have overcooked it!!! We had the set menu at £18.50 each. For what we paid, I would have expected bigger portions. The music was so loud we couldn't hear ourselves think, nevermind have a conversation! The service was quick and the staff friendly but that was the only good thing about it I'm afraid. Very disappointing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinTheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cubana also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cubana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing