We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a punt”

Butlers Balti House
Ranked #113 of 1,497 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Been a couple of times. Quite reasonable. Always tasty and well priced for a city centre restaurant would go again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank superowls61sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 282 of 447 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 20.
The waiter was very stroppy and miserable! We all had popodums and pickles which came quickly, when we had finished the waiter brought the starters but did not clear any of our plates away from previous dish, we all had to make a pile of our used crockery which didn't get cleared until we had eaten our starters. The main courses then arrived with confusion and the waiter getting very cross, finally when we all had our meals there was a mixed view - half really enjoyed and half didn't. I found mine to be very bland for a balti dish. Plates where not provided so you have to tip your rice into the dish your curry arrived in which I
didn't like. The waiter complained that he couldn't reach everyone to clear the plates, but we were only sat where they had put us. Crowded together on 2 long tables. I wouldn't return to this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Culfy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sid2008, Manager at Butlers Balti House, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Hi Apologies that you had a bad experience. I spoke to the member of staff who served you, he told me that out of 10 seated on 1 row and 6 on the other this rooms has got seating for up to 34 there was only 16 of you sat in the VIP lounge was suppose to be 24 arriving but only 16 turned up, did ask you how many people before you got seated and you said 24 but only 16 turned up. There was only 6 having starters on the table of 10 so we thought it would be good idea if we would serve the starters cause some had orders starters but were not eating Popadums, the waiter said a lot of them had their chairs out talking to others on the other table and asked if they could pull their chairs in so he could clear the table after the starters, apologies the staff sounded like he was being rude or spoke to you guys in a way it sounded rude. We never said nothing for having booked for 24 and arriving with 16 when at least on a busy night we should be told in advance to the numbers turning up. We did say shall we wait for everyone to arrive before we go up and someone in your group said why is the table not ready, it's not the reason we ask everyone to be there so we can reduce the table sizes if there is less number so we can save seats for our selves. I served you good food and don't except a review like this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Despite having booked a table and arriving in good time, we were kept waiting ages. When we finally got seated, the table was so cramped (there were 6 of us around a table that would have been comfortable for 2), the plates could physically not all fit on the table. Food very ordinary, won't be bothering again. Sorry

2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sid2008, Manager at Butlers Balti House, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for taking time out writing review, as you arrived in all six if you did not arrive you were waiting for others, you table was ready was told when all your other members are here please let us know and we can take you to your table. The table size you sat on is a table of 6. Recently you reviewed a Italian restaurant that you praised our tables are a lot bigger than there's out table diameter is 900 and it is a round table, I was in there last week and I am shocked that you was happy with there table when a lot smaller than ours, don't know what you orders on the night maybe it was something that you ordered that did not suite your taste. We have a high standard of quality of food and the restaurant being busy packed can speak for it self as you have seen on the night. I am sorry you had a bad experience with us may be it was to do with the start that's why the night went down hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had visited once before but quite some time ago. We booked for early dinner (7pm) and were pleased to find it half full even so early. The choice was good, service was efficient and staff very friendly the choices we made we both really enjoyed. The restaurant began to fill as we left with couples and families and everyone appeared to be having a good time.

We seem to visit the same familiar Indian restaurants and I think we will be adding this to our list

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bramwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Been to butlers loads times including its old location further up the road, it's one the restaurants we use on our Wednesday night curry club, it's always very good the staff look after us and would recommend can't wait to go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butlers Balti House also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Butlers Balti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing