We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it”

Butlers Balti House
Ranked #103 of 1,477 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Not good at all. As much as you want your food to arrive as quickly as possible, I would have like for the food to have been made with more effort than this. Had saag, and it was basically wilted spinach with way too much oil. That said the naan was okay. Pick another place to get your takeaway from. Also it was way too expensive for what we got.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RajnishMadaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Butlers Balti House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 299 of 439 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

I understand the current Butlers relocated from University roundabout. Not sure what it was like then, I suspect the surroundings have improved, but I doubt the food has.

Decor ok, little bit 80s and pretentious despite the effort. Upstairs looks like an 80s disco. Food on the whole average to below average, service is poor.

Grills are ok and come sizzling, but curries taste the same, tastes like one base curry which has been added to, to make each of the different curries on the menu.

Waiters are poor, telephone manners also need looking at, very rude and aggressive at booking, not sure why, I think he got fed up of some of the questions regarding menu items.

Prices are reasonable-low, but you get what you pay for. Happy to pay for quality.

The most appealing aspect of a balti night out comes down to the food, Butlers doesn't cut it I'm afraid.

Would not go again.

1  Thank smc644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sid2008, Owner at Butlers Balti House, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hi,
Many thanks for your feedback.
You mention quite a few problems prior to and during your visit to the restaurant, none of which I have been made aware before this post.
I am certainly unaware that we use the same curry base for different curries(!) and am curious which curries you ordered to make this comparison.
I am surprised that I was not made aware of any poor service and/or rudeness you suggest my staff have shown you. I fully recommend reporting this a.s.a.p. during your visit, rather than waiting to add this to an internet review.
Thank you for your opening interior design comment, too! I don't remember 80s discos looking like our restaurant(!), which I believe is contemporary and comfortable. I'm certain you are in a tiny minority there (and with all the other problems you claim to have found with the restaurant)
Indeed, thank you for putting the most unimportant of your complaints first, it gave me an impression that the others, so many and exhaustive though they were, were as or less credible than the opener.
Regards, and glad you enjoyed the grill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Invited by Saj (owner) to the launch of his 200 seater upstairs restaurant - not only confident that he can fill out the downstairs bar/restaurant then he has invested in an almost mirror image upstairs.
The place looks amazing with wooden floors, leather seats and a large screen for Bollywood enthusiasts. They have a separate kitchen upstairs and last night gave it a thorough workout with over 400 covers being served over the evening.
Food was buffet style and after the usual crisp poppadums and obligatory pickle tray - you can always get refills, can a selection of mixed starters, onion barjee - quite hot and spicy - think chef had been experimenting a little, very spicy kofta and large chunky chicken tikka, served with fresh salad and lemon slices on a hot skillet of fried onions - a meal on its own.

The buffet was a vegetarian Saag, chicken tikka in a cheeky sauce, lamb bhona that just fell apart when cut, rice and very fresh naans on the table.

Washed down with a good Shiraz and some cheeky Cobra's.

Great atmosphere, good to see some old faces in the crowd - certainly going back again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Glyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This restaurant was lovely, brilliant food and the staff were excellent. The service was second to none and really helpful when deciding what to eat. Nothing was too much trouble and we would definitely go out of our way to eat here again

Thank vikki w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

First time I've been to the new butlers and nothing as changed as far as the food goes everything was quality.service was spot on and the new restaurant looks great best curry house in sheffield,a must for curry lovers!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butlers Balti House also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Butlers Balti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing