We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little italy”
Review of Nonnas

Nonnas
Ranked #198 of 1,483 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $7 - $53
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nonnas Sheffield on the restaurant scene since 1996. We love great food, great wine & great service.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Four of us visited this restaurant last week while visiting Sheffield.The staff were very helpful and friendly and engaged with us.The food was above average.we had shared starters of antipasta and then a variety of mains.I had the spaghetti carbonara , which was on the specials for the night and only £5.95,absoloute bargain and cooked just right,not too saucy,and bags of flavour.We had 2 bottles of the house red,which was a reasonable price and all 4 of us thought it was good value.Would certainly go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank molarnator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 303 of 479 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I called in for Brunch last Monday, after a pilgrimage to Waitrose for a certain type of vodka! Having never set foot in the place before, we sat on bar stools in the window and looked at the menu. Eventually a pleasant lady came over and I explained we'd not been before and she was most helpful. We moved to a table for two and the food and coffee arrived within 10 minutes, I had wild mushrooms and poached egg and my husband had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, both served on toasted focaccia, and was accompanied by Filter Coffee and hot milk.

Overall we were happy with everything, until a party of three sat on the table for four next to us and we quickly realised the tables were far too close for comfort.

This really is the only niggle and there are plenty of other tables in different areas so we will be mindful to check for more space from the next table when were return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a regular haunt for sure, but this week I tried sharing three starters and a bottle of Prosecco with someone else as a mid afternoon Sunday treat. There was even room for dessert. The staff were delightful and happy to oblige our unusual request.
Agree, sometimes the staff can appear a little aloof in that Italian way, but I've always found them to comply with requests, e.g. providing a cake fork and sharing dishes.
Love their happy hour where the bar usually has a small selection of delectable savoury treats.
Can't stop going here... in fact back again for more formal dinner in a few days.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carol-kcjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonnasSheffield, Owner at Nonnas, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your comment. Your feed back is very important to us, as it helps to improve our standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Recommended by my son, we had a great evening. Service could be described as less formal but more fun. Food was very good with bold Italian flavours, the wine they recommended was so good, I bought another bottle to take home. The restaurant was full with a great atmosphere. Will go back when next in Sheffield.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnO99699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonnasSheffield, Owner at Nonnas, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you had a pleasant evening at Nonnas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nonnas has been known to me for many years. Many people inSheffield think it is the place to be, and still frequent here.
I took an old friend in here for a glass of wine after a school reunion up the road. We were told we had to stand in the bar by a rude female waitress who could not even smile. My friend commented it smelt of toilets and wanted to sit in the cafe. The waitress seemed to frown at this but ushered us to the window. I ordered a coffee and a glass of white wine, in which we were told a large glass is in fact a standard glass...! The wine came and was slammed on the table, the coffee came separately and she forgot the water we asked for. The place is dirty, with dirty windows and an unpleasant smell. The staff were italian and not one smiled or was polite. Getting the bill was a fuss and the 'small' (nonnas large) glass of wine was more expensive than in London. One does not mind paying the prices in a nice wine bar, but not this seedy dump. I will never set foot in there again and I will ensure every one I know knows how awful this place is.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
3  Thank pixidoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonnasSheffield, Owner at Nonnas, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

I am very sorry that you had a bad experience at Nonnas. Your feed back is very important and helps us to improve our standards. Regarding the wine situation there was a mix confusion as we have recently changed our wine measurements due to customers request, as now we do two types of measures 125 ml and 175 ml. I hope you will reconsider coming back to Nonnas as we take all feed back very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nonnas also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to Nonnas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing