We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely food in a great little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of VeroGusto

VeroGusto
Ranked #13 of 1,429 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to VeroGusto, our family-run, authentic and award-winning Italian restaurant and caffé, right in the heart of Sheffield city centre. We're passionate about great food, wine and hospitality, and so are our customers who have enjoyed our fare since we first opened in 2006.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely food in a great little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I was shown this place by a friend who had been there a few times before. The place is run by an italien couple and the husband was managing the front of house. It was booked fully for the evening, but we managed to get a table, as the bookings for it only started an hour later. The food was lovely, with great flavours. It wasn't fine dining - just really nice italien dishes with just the right portion size, so one could enjoy dessert without feeling stuffed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    104
    39
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good but does the menu change?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is my second visit to this restaurant and generally i think it's very good.It's open all day so you can come mid morning for coffee and cake, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner. I have only been for dinner so this is what i'll comment on. First the positives, nice size not too many tables so the kitchen should have good control of what comes out.The food is of a good quality but the sauces, whilst tasty, are a little on the heavy side which means the true taste of ingrediants is sometimes masked. As a wine buff i am always interested in what the list has to offer and this has plenty at all price points.Of course Italian throughout and so it should be, it has the eclectic and the high end from top producers from all regions. Now the negatives. I last came six months ago and the menu had not changed.The staff a little too enthusiastic to do there job right. We first had bottled water and then asked for tap and the waiter preceded to put tap water into our glasses which still had bottle water in.All in all this is a nice place, probably the best wine list a Sheffield city centre restaurant has ever had but the same menu spanning six months!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gourmetgannit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great Italian, tucked away, but go find it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Lovely service at this classy Italian and some one here really knows how to cook....
We've eaten here several times and never been disappointed. Make sure you book, it's very popular.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Lunch: Sandwiches were delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Had lunch here with 2 others. All 3 of us had a drink and a sandwich. The sarnies were lovely; toasted focaccia with sausage and roasted peppers. Service was excellent. Total was £25. A little pricey for what was, essentially, a sandwich at lunch, but it was good value for the service, environment and food.

Helpful?
Thank mattsand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great independent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

great food, atmosphere and decor.

Small, so may need to book in evening
great change from going to a chain

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank touristSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VeroGusto also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to VeroGusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing