We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and cask ale”
Review of The Wortley Arms

The Wortley Arms
Ranked #42 of 1,448 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $41
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The Wortley Arms was originally built as a coach house in 1753 at a cost of 188 pounds and 66 shillings! After an extensive renovation period we reopened our doors in November 2006.You will find we have retained many of the features that have given this historical building its renowned character including its revolving doors and the solid oak beams. Customers can enjoy themselves in our warm welcoming environment in front of our wood fire, whilst enjoying a locally brewed ale or some excellent fresh food like our famous Wortley Pie.The Montagu Rooms occupy the upper floor. Here we can accommodate private functions for all purposes. You can hire part or the whole of the top floor for exclusive private dining, for seated parties of up to 50 or buffet style catering for larger gatherings. Alternatively you can reserve the entire venue including the facilities of the Wortley Arms.Food for both the Wortley Arms and the Montagu Rooms is prepared under the direction of Master Chef of Great Britain Andy Gabbitas. Andy uses recipes that he has collected in the course of his experience as private chef to well known celebrities and on his world travels to produce a cuisine at its most pure, simple and seasonal.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding food and cask ale”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Best pub food in many a year. Venison to perfection and real roesti. Service great and prices were excellent value. Cannot recommend more highly

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomt-gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    118
    39
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burbage
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cant recommend it higher”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went there for a late Easter Day lunch with all the family. Excellent and attentive service, even when the food took a while to get to us because they were very busy. Main course and desert for 10 with drinks came to just under £200. Real ale to die for.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrandMrsRoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mothering Sunday”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My Son and I visited the Wortley arms on mothering Sunday . We had a beautiful roast dinner everything cooked to absolute perfection .I would say that the roast beef I had was some of the best ever ,my son had the lamb and thought it again perfect. A few weeks before my girlfriends had visited James Martins restaurant The Talbot Hotel in Malton and although good, was double the money with much smaller portions ,I would suggest that James Martin talks to Andy Gabbitas at the Wortley arms and picks up a few tips .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penistone
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best country pub by far.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Regular visitors for a Saturday lunch and can't recommend it enough. Log fire, great service and amazing food. Chunky chips to die for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pepper2246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

What a lovely village pub. It was super to walk in from the snow to a roaring log fire. Our meals were both superb and the service was excellent.
Would definitely return to the Worley Arms if ever in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wortley Arms also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Wortley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing