We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, service & food”
Review of Wong Ting

Wong Ting
Ranked #330 of 1,448 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value, service & food”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Really enjoyed this place even though the surrounding area looks a bit iffy!
Staff were really welcoming and could not have been more helpful with some great recommendations.
Food was really good and all freshly cooked which makes a change from the usual Chinese buffet, for the price I couldn't fault it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    74
    36
    24
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of my favourites but alittle disappointed this time”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here many times before and always enjoyed the place and food. It must have been over a year since we last went. Firstly we were placed in the corner and it smelt abit fusty. The staff was cleaning the blinds at the main windows making a right racket, surely these kind of things should be done before they open? The staff are always nice but there's loads of them and all seem to hang around the table waiting for you to finish. We had the banquet all you can eat for £16.95. The starters were amazing, would defo recommend the chilli king prawns. Crispy duck is one of our favourite Chinese dishes but this one was full of fat. I must admit by time we got to order the mains we were abit full so we only ordered one main each and a rice. All was awful! Very disappointing. It was the grilled chicken in garlic n white wine sauce, this was tasteless and looked like a processed Bernard Matthews dish, the chicken was soggy, I had the chicken and mushroom, not very nice. The place is looking abit tired ready for a revamp.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zola0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A must visit....... fantastic chinese”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Having visited Sheffield numerous times i found this little gem opposite the Jurys Inn. It is above some shops on the left of the street.
It offers a full chinese menu but we opted for the eat as much as you can with FREE crispy duck. £16.95 per head and well worth it.
You get a menu and they allow you to order what ever you want to sart with and they cook it fresh and bring it to your table. Can recommend the crispy prawns and lettuce leaveswith chicken. If you want any more you just ask and they are more than happy to bringit. Once you have eaten the duck they take your order again for your mains. Again all fresh made and as much as you want. Try the chow mein and beef in mushroom.
2 bottles of strongbow was £5. The staff are lovely. A fantastic restaurant with friendly staff
Will be back
Thank you

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank polamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fab chinese food”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Was worried about going here because of the look of the area but dont worry about that - once inside its great - staff are welcoming, service is great and food excellent. You can pay an "all you can eat" price and choose off the menu so its not one of these ones where you help yourself from a buffet. Unfortunately they do not have their own website but the menu is like any you would expect with Appetizers, Soups, Duck pancakes, Mains and Desserts. Cant fault it - would definitely go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rainbow_1981_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb, vegetarian and family friendly place, highly recommend!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was a little skeptical at first, especially after reading other tripadvisor reviews. What I really loved about this all you can eat banquet was that it didn't involve a serve yourself table nor any festering food or questionable sneeze guards. You order from the menu at your table and the restaurant cook the food freshly and bring it to you table. The vegetarian menu was wonderful, I was spoilt for choice which made me very happy! All the food was piping hot and presented beautifully. The staff were more than happy to cater to my veggie needs.
See full review including photos on my blog here: http://whatjennathought.blogspot.co.uk/2013/05/wong-ting-cantonese-restaurant-sheffield.html

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wong Ting also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Wong Ting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing