We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the food here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thyme Cafe

Thyme Cafe
Ranked #43 of 1,417 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $41
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love the food here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Love the food here, it's a bit hit or miss if you can get in though, they don't take reservations so its a matter of turning up and seeing if they have room. The food is lovely, had a fish pie last time I went and really enjoyed it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    126
    47
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great value lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent £10/head lunchtime deal at The Thyme Café with a limited but perfectly adequate menu. Includes a soft drink, tea/coffee or a small glass of house red or white. Had fish and chips and the tiger prawn linguine, both of which were very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This used to be my favourite place to eat in Sheffield - now it's about 6th or 7th on the list - somehow it's lost it's zing. The menu is still great - but quality of food unreliable. Can't fault the service and atmosphere still good but please guys get a bit more consistency in the kitchen

I will give it another go in a few weeks but after three disappointing meals Thyme cafe is on a yellow card.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Izbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“85th Birthday Bash!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

An early Saturday evening meal with family to celebrate Mum's birthday. We went into a very quiet but welcoming restaurant and shown to the window seat. Drinks ordered, we can recommend the Abbeydale Pale Ale, we shared the tapas as a starter, six dishes for £15 was great value. Everyone catered for from the wide choice off the blackboard menus, no one was left disappointed. Only one down point was the omission of my brother's meal, however, this was easily compensated for by the reduction of the bill by a bottle of wine! Although his meal came as we were finishing ours it did not spoil the evening. Six people ate and drank their fill for a little over £100 was good value for money. We will definitely be making a return visit to the Thyme Cafe. By the way, we left a very busy, bustling restaurant with a great atmosphere!

Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Only stopped by as I had time to waste. Good menu, friendly staff and reasonable prices. Handy if visiting Royal Hallamshire hospital or University.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anyoldironScunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thyme Cafe also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Thyme Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing