We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer service training required for ignorant staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Botanical Gardens Cafe and Restaurant

Botanical Gardens Cafe and Restaurant
Ranked #1,096 of 1,418 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Cafe, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Customer service training required for ignorant staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

After a wonderful visit to the gardens we decided to pop into the tea room for coffee and cake. We stood at the counter being ignored before a young girl just stood staring at us. When we ordered our food her only words were spoken in a sarcastic tone and when the food was presented it was nearly thrown at us. A visit to the toilets showed they were never cleaned and we had to step over food to find a seat . The whole place was littered with dirty pots and the atmosphere was grey, unfriendly and dirty. To be honest the worst place we have ever stopped at and overpriced . We will never return but suggest that all staff visit a dr for happy therapy and customer service training. What a sham

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    8
    18
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Such a shame!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Went for a lovely morning out today at the botanical gardens. The place is beautiful! We decided to pop into the cafe for a coffee and an ice cream. As soon as we walked in, the girl looked up and sighed (as if to say, not another customer!) she then walked away from us without a word. After waiting there, the girl came over and just looked at us, she sighed and just went to get our ice creams. Then just left them on the counter and pointed to the till 'pay there' she said and walked off! Such a shame to have such terrible service in such a beautiful place! Very disappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Level Contributor
184 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“NICE COFFEE STOP”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We got a friendly welcome when we called in for a coffee. Nice comftable seats and good value food. An ideal spot for refreshment when viewing the splendid Botanical Gardens.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely location-shame about the service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I went here with two friends for a quick lunch before walking around the Botanical Gardens. It was only about 2pm and we were told there were only 2 portions of soup left and only white bread for sandwiches.
The woman behind the counter had obviously had a customer service bypass!! Ok - she was about 6/7 months pregnant and maybe she was tired but it wouldnt have been too much to ask for a smile and a welcome.
The soup was good but the 'crusty bread' promised on the specials board wasnt crusty and we each got just 1 pat of butter. the cutlery was thrown onto the table in a heap - not even given to each of us separately. My friend went in search of salt and pepper.The same miserable woman was sitting at a table eating (nobody behind the counter) so my friend asked her where she might find the s&p. the woman just pointed!! It was so rude!
There were tables left with dirty plates on and, when they were cleared they weren't wiped.
We didnt bother with cake because they are obviously bought in, not home made and they didnt look very appetising and they were very expensive.
It is a lovely venue, light and airy with, of course, great views of the Gardens. The tables are a good size and the chairs are comfy.This place could be fantastic but it needs staff who take a pride in their work and who enjoy meeting people.
At the end of the walk we talked about whether to face 'grumpy-drawers' again but decided against it in favour of a cuppa back at home!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Situated in the old 'curator's house' - the setting is pleasant and the food very good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kyle-Nazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Gardens Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Botanical Gardens Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing