We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful treat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Artisan - CLOSED

Artisan
Price range: $69 - $69
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful treat.”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I've now been twice to Artisan and both times I have had some of the best food I've ever had. The homemade black pudding is not only delicious, but really inventive and cleverly presented too. I also enjoy that they serve bread before the meal, but not just a basket of it. We had 2 different kinds of bread, both of which were fantastically delicious.
My main course was the tasting of pork. When it arrived I was blown away by the dish. Really well presented and the variation in the pork made my mouth water. The dish was deceptively large. I though I'd tuck it all away pretty easily but was left without being able to quite finish it. The second time I went I had one of the steaks which was cooked perfectly. The steak, to be honest, was probably better value due to the fact you get 4 sides inclusive. I'd recommend the sauté potatoes and chorizo as a side.
As a warning, this is definitely a neighbourhood restaurant, so the atmosphere really varies depending on the night. During the week, expect the place to not be busy and fairly quiet inside. However, this is quite nice as the service really shines on the quiet nights. The last time we went we had to book for a friday night and it was packed. Really vibrant atmosphere and you could feel the buzz in the air.
There aren't many tables so some of them looked a bit cramped, but our's was perfect.

All in all, a wonderful local restaurant, serving inventive British food for a fairly reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorge1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    28
    20
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice treat”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a special meal. The restaurant is nice but a bit cramped. If you have a choice don't sit on the seats on the sides of the room, they are too low for the tables. Plus it was really cold in there.
We had nibbles to start, olives bread and piggy bites. The piggy bites were amazing
We then had the Chateaubriand this came with standard steak side but the waitress let us swap these so we had the cauliflower cheese, spinach and potato's with chorizo and had the port and Stilton sauce. The sauce was poor sauce with chunks of cold Stilton. The steak was cooked well, however it was one of the smaller ones we have had.
We didn't have a pudding mainly because it was so cold in there.
Service is spot on, efficient and polite.
Parking is a bit of a pain too.
Would we go again. Yes but not in a hurry. There are better places for Chateaubriand.

Helpful?
Thank becky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sunday lunch ever !”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We all ordered different roasts I orders turkey Which was delicious my mum orders the pork me which she said was juicy with crackling and Hearl ordered the beef which he said perfectly pink and tender. For are starters Hearl and my mum had prawn cocktail which was nice and my soup was pars tip and honey and that was absolutely gorgeous , but we all would have preferred to sit in the main dining room. Overall an fantastic Sunday lunch !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crazymango123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I took my student son and six of his housemates out for lunch as they are in the midst of revising for exams. We all had the three course set Sunday lunch menu. The food was excellent and the service was friendly and attentive. The roast beef was pink in the middle and beautifully tender and the Yorkshire puds were amazing. I had the Black Pudding starter and it was delicious as was the strawberry pudding, the sticky toffee pudding looked amazing too.

We'll be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwedesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have been to Artisan on a few occasions in it's different guises. I enjoyed 'Smiths', 'Thyme' and Artisan is equally as good! Well done and keep up the good work!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisan also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing